RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Alaska Radio Discussion Forum


Alaska Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Alaska.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2018, 9:12 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2016
Location: IRMO SC
Posts: 47
Default Alaska state troopers radio encryption

how come the Alaska state troopers are 100% encrypted on all channels and aswell as most city pd's
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2018, 9:25 PM
iMONITOR's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MACOMB, MI.
Posts: 5,441
Default

Because they can see Russia from their house!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2018, 10:45 AM
wbswetnam's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: DMR-istan (aka "Arkansas")
Posts: 1,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrat1234 View Post
how come the Alaska state troopers are 100% encrypted on all channels and aswell as most city pd's
Because they can. Move to the lower 48 or Hawaii - it's too cold up there anyway.
__________________
Too much of a good thing can be wonderful. - Mae West
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2018, 4:53 PM
lsh1885's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 245
Default

The police are largely encrypted here too (Florida) but most Fire and EMS channels are in the clear
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2018, 5:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 708
Default

You will notice areas spread thin low man power to wide spread areas tend to have encrypted systems for obvious reasons.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2018, 7:20 PM
iamhere300's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chappell Hill TX
Posts: 1,292
Default

I have always wondered, does St Lawrence island have radio coverage on the AK state system?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2018, 7:23 PM
iamhere300's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chappell Hill TX
Posts: 1,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMONITOR View Post
Because they can see Russia from their house!

They can't? Say from the roof of their house?

(for those following, it is only 2.4 miles from Alaska to Russia at it's closest point, and those residents can walk out their front door and can't miss seeing Russia)

Last edited by iamhere300; 05-15-2018 at 7:46 PM.. Reason: 2.4 miles, not 2.2
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2018, 7:58 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Object-oriented
Posts: 660
Default

I know ALMR works (or was working 2 years ago) on Saint Paul, never been to SLI.

And I saw Russia 2 Fridays ago flying into a location in Alaska...and will see it again Thursday. Looks brown
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2018, 6:01 AM
iamhere300's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chappell Hill TX
Posts: 1,292
Default

That is surprising.

St Paul island? Hardly no one goes there. Unless they live there, service turbines, or are with NOAA. Loran?

Last edited by iamhere300; 05-17-2018 at 6:07 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2018, 6:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Object-oriented
Posts: 660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamhere300 View Post
That is surprising.

St Paul island? Hardly no one goes there. Unless they live there, service turbines, or are with NOAA. Loran?
I was surprised as well. Certain talkgroups were also available on the site (I'm not sure how roaming works for every single TGID). Thought I'd be reduced to simplex...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2018, 2:07 AM
iamhere300's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chappell Hill TX
Posts: 1,292
Default

Very jealous that you get to go there LOL
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2018, 2:10 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Object-oriented
Posts: 660
Default

Don't be. It was once two years ago and I was pretty unimpressed.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2018, 3:54 PM
ikarus280's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilrobnson View Post
I was surprised as well. Certain talkgroups were also available on the site (I'm not sure how roaming works for every single TGID). Thought I'd be reduced to simplex...
St. Paul was, and is, in site trunking from what I understand - no reachback to the rest of the system. Site trunking still allows ALMR talkgroups, but it acts as (sort of) its own standalone system. For example, if two people used talkgroup X on island, within the footprint of that one site, they would hear each other. But person in, say, Fairbanks, would not be able to communicate with the people on the island using that same talkgroup. Same would happen if connection between any other neighbor sites is interrupted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions