Icom/Yaesu Handheld H/T

Status
Not open for further replies.

N1XDS

ÆS Ø
Guys and Ladies,
Im currently studying to take the test for the amatuer technician license. I was thinking about going ahead and getting a handheld h/t I was thinking either a Icom or Yaesu Handheld but I dont know which to look into. I was looking at the Yaesu VX6R that covers 2meter/220 and the 440 band, I know I cant transmit on the radio until I pass and receive my lincese call sign but I can listen on to other people talking on the frequency.The spending I would like to spend is $200 dollars. Thanks for your time. Jamie (Git-R-Done)

Buckskinner33

Premium Subscriber
Try this one Yeasu VX-7R. It has the tri-band coverage and also a 6M in AM mode. The other nice feature is the fact that it is submersible. The original advertisment had a operating radio in water.

Another nice feature was the band coverage. HF, VHF and UHF. Narrow FM, Wide FM and AM. The only thing it seem to miss was SSB. There is also a Spectrum Analyzer built into it. I use mine to sniff out RFI problems around the house. Another selling point is that I can program it thru my PC with the optional DATA cable.

When I bought mine a few years ago I paid around $400 bucks for it. Im sure you could pick one up for less.

Now the down side:
Like most Multiband radios, The antenna that is given to you sucks, and if you intend to use another type ( I recomend that you do ) you are going to have to find an SMC to TNC adaptor. This should eleminate the antenna problem. Try to stick with a single band antenna for what ever band you transmit on. You will have less problems with the SWR.

Another problem is the battery life. Buy an extra battery pack. The alkaline battery pack isnt worth its weight in plastic but an extra Ni Cad is.