Help, I live in a bowl and no one can hear me!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kd5ywa

I live on the outside edge of Trinidad Colorado and right on the edge of a range of mountains. I do not have a tower but that would be awesome if anyone has a spare.... anyways, I am using a Screwdriver Antenna to do SSTV. I can pic up all sorts of images some from Canada and Ukraine but no one ever responds to me! I wonder if anyone out there can see what I am transmitting. I transmit at a power of about 45 watts....

Well, when I got my screwdriver antenna the instructions to how to tune it were... to say the least, a bit confusing since I am kind of new to this "General's license" thing. I just got set up with my own ham station as of about 6 months ago, but I am getting discouraged.

Does anyone know how to tune an screwdriver antenna? have excellent SWR.... so ????

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
Folks, if you aren't going to answer the OP's question, don't post.

To the OP, what frequency are you transmitting on? What screwdriver antenna do you have? Have you contacted the manufacturer to see if they can help you? Have you tried contacting local hams to see if they can help you? How high is this screwdriver antenna off the ground? What have you done to provide a ground plane for the antenna? Have you tried making any SSB contacts to see if a. you can make a contact and b. get a signal report from the other station?

Just because you can hear other stations with your antenna and just because you have low SWR doesn't mean your antenna will be an effective radiator. Screwdriver antennas are compromise antennas designed for mobile use. You may be able to get it to work in a base location, but it's going to take some work.

kd5ywa

I believe that the antenna is a MFJ 1664 and I am transmitting at a frequency of 14.230 MHz