Getting APRS to work on Yaesu FT1DR with DCARA.net in Texas

Status
Not open for further replies.

tateconcepts

K5CDR
Hello everyone,

I recently purchased this pretty nifty HT and I set GPS, set the B VFO to the APRS tracker and I can see the main and WX repeaters for Denton County, TX but I can't seem to see my own APRS data as I travel or anywhere for that matter.

What I am doing wrong here and any suggestions anyone has would certainly be helpful. Also, as a side topic (not trying to go off thread here), can I use the RMS gateways with a stereo patch cable into a Yaesu VX-5R with Winlink? I have never used it before but I am getting acquainted with all the good stuff and hope to start doing some QRP when I can pick up a rig for PSK31 and other methods.

I have no clue why the FT1DR doesn't report me on aprs.fi or any of those sites. I'm already tracked working with cyber security as a sysadmin anyway. Now to just find a C4FM digital repeater up here for everyone to get onboard with. It works wonders on mobile vs DSTAR.

Brian KG5BDB

kayn1n32008

ØÆSØ
Hello everyone,

I recently purchased this pretty nifty HT and I set GPS, set the B VFO to the APRS tracker and I can see the main and WX repeaters for Denton County, TX but I can't seem to see my own APRS data as I travel or anywhere for that matter.

What I am doing wrong here and any suggestions anyone has would certainly be helpful. Also, as a side topic (not trying to go off thread here), can I use the RMS gateways with a stereo patch cable into a Yaesu VX-5R with Winlink? I have never used it before but I am getting acquainted with all the good stuff and hope to start doing some QRP when I can pick up a rig for PSK31 and other methods.

I have no clue why the FT1DR doesn't report me on aprs.fi or any of those sites. I'm already tracked working with cyber security as a sysadmin anyway. Now to just find a C4FM digital repeater up here for everyone to get onboard with. It works wonders on mobile vs DSTAR.