hand held HF/VHF/UHF tranciever

Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPD

QRT
I'm not sure where this goes (sorry guys). Does any one know of a hand held tranciever that can transmit on HF, VHF, and UHF? I have a Yaesu FT817 already and was curious if there was any thing else out there. If not is there a VHF/UHF tranciever that can recieve on HF in SSB.

KG4INW

Premium Subscriber
I'm not aware of any handheld that will TX on HF but the Kenwood TH-F6A is a 2m/1.25m/70cm HT that will also RX HF with SSB: Kenwood TH-F6A Amateur Radio HT THF6

I have no experience with it though so will have to let others share their experiences (or I'm sure it's been talked about in previous threads).

Seven-Delta-FortyOne

Premium Subscriber
No, there are no HF HT's, for several reasons.

First, a 1/4 wave vertical on the 75 meter band, for example, is about 62 feet high. In addition, it would require radials of the same length to function properly. Your body makes a decent ground plane at UHF frequencies, but is woefully deficient at lower frequencies.

On the HF bands, there is a great deal of atmospheric noise, and most signals are SSB. To really work these bands, several controls are needed, like IF shift, clarifiers, DSP, noise blankers, speech processor, and on and on. There is no way you could fit all those knobs and electronics into an HT.

Delta

hotdjdave

K9DJW - Senior Member
Database Admin
The Yaesu FT-817ND may be an option. It is a small mobile that runs on batteries. It was designed to work in a backpack, fanny pack, and/or carry with supplied carry strap. It is about the size of two long handheld radios.

Coverage
TX: 160 - 10 Meters, 50 MHz, 144 MHz, 430-450 MHz, plus Alaska Emergency Channel (5167.5 kHz).
RX: 100 kHz - 56 MHz; 76 - 154 MHz; 420 - 470 MHz.

Yaesu FT-817ND

http://www.powerportstore.com/Yaesu FT817 ACC.htm

http://www.powerportstore.com/antennas.htm

Pictures below are the FT-817 and a carrying option.

Attachments

• ft-817.jpg
    ft-817.jpg