I just. picked up a Yaesu ft101e
I am just starting out and have a lot to learn
It gets down to - 40 celsius up here
I have this radio set up in my garage
and the temp. does not go below freezing very often
as it is an attached garage. Will I have any problems
leaving the. radio out and operating it in the cold. I have it
in a cabinet with doors and I was thinking of installing a light bulb
inside the cabinet to generate heat. You might be surprised how much heat a 60 or 100 watt
light can generate in a closed cabinet.

I look forward to hearing comments on this issue
as well as any ideas.

Thanks

N8IAA

First, does it work? It is over thirty years old. Second, do you have back up tubes for the finals? Paper capacitors do go bad on those boat anchors too. Believe me, you won't need a lamp to keep the radio warm:D
Larry

K4EET

Chaplain
Oh how I love the tube rigs (see my shack picture of my Heathkit SB-102). I also have always wanted a FT-101e (Yaesu FT-101E, Yaesu FT-101EE, Yaesu FT-101EX Transceiver). Nice radio. If I remember correctly, it uses 6JS6C sweep tubes for finals and the rest is definitely solid state.

Like N8IAA said, the rig will keep things warm ***if*** you leave it on. Otherwise, the 100W light bulb might be a good idea. The storage and operating temperature specs for the FT-101e are unknown from what I can see. One service manual for tune-up is found here. Keeping it warm for operating will be key for frequency stability.

From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yaesu_FT-101#Specifications, "The 1975 FT-101E 160-10m band transceiver with RF speech processor was brought out in 3 subtypes: early (ser # <15000) with (PB1494) Processor board; mid - (ser # 15001-20500) with (PB1534) Processor board and late (ser # >20501) with (PB1534A) processor, (PB1547A) regulator, (PB1183C) IF, (PB1315B) audio and (PB1582) blanker boards."