Total newb looking for the right radios to buy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Relic_Man

Hi my name is Rob. The wife and I are currently studying to get our technicians licenses. We are taking the test in September. I currently don't own any Ham radios. I am trying to decide what kind to buy. I could use a little help. My primary interest is not so much making contact with strangers around the world but to provide communication between my wife at a base station and me out hunting or fishing or hiking in areas where there is no cell service. Some people have suggested a radio in the 2 meter band 1 base station at the house or camp while I would have a handheld. The distances I would like to cover our from zero 20 miles or so away at the most. I live in the Rolling Hills of southwestern Pennsylvania near Laurel Ridge. It's my understanding that a 2-meter radio would probably need to hit a repeater in order to reach the base from my handheld anywhere basically Beyond line-of-sight. My brilliant idea was to get a 10-meter handheld and base unit. From what I've been able to figure out you can bounce a signal off of the ionosphere hand make long-distance point-to-point communication. My biggest question is if I am 10 or 20 miles away is this to close together to use this type of communication? The 10 meter attracted my attention because of the long distance point-to-point potential. Which I think would be useful in some sort of disaster situation where repeaters might not be working. I am interested in hearing anyone's opinion on my 10 meter Theory for any suggestions as to what type of radios would fit the bill for my scenario.

N4GIX

Premium Subscriber
I sincerely doubt 10m would prove practical for your needs. Consider that 10m isn't all that different in propagation than 11m (CB). The biggest difference is that 10m is licensed by test whereas 11m is licensed by rule (meaning no controls whatsoever!).