Crossing the Canada/United States border

Status
Not open for further replies.

DotNM

Feed Provider
Good day all,

I'm new to amateur radio and have my car equipped with a Yaesu FT-7800R radio. I like travelling to the USA by car since I live close to the border, but I'm just wondering what to expect with this kind of equipment in my car since I haven't crossed since I installed it.

Should I bring anything extra, like documentation or anything? Should I also expect more questions about the equipment in my car?

This is just more curiosity of what to expect when crossing. I have NEXUS pre-clearance if that helps or makes a difference.

Thanks in advance for all your insight.

kilowa22

Just have your ham radio license with you when you cross the border. It shouldn't be a problem, just have it turned off when at the checkpoint and your less likely to get any questions.

KR4BD

The U.S. and Canada have a reciprocal agreement for ham radio operation. In short, U.S. hams can operate in Canada and vica-versa so long as they properly identify themselves. If I were to operate in Ontario, I believe the correct way for me to ID would be VE3/KR4BD, etc. I have driven in Canada with my ham rigs and antennas and not had any problems at the border. However, I would definitely have my license with me....just in case there is a problem.

Duster40

Correct....my concern was for a new Canadian ham knowing
how to identify himself correctly on the radio when in the States...
I have heard snowbirds passing through my area identifying
as "VExxxx operating W5"........and 'VExxxxx stroke W5'

PeterGV

K1PGV
I can never remember these rules, so I took the opportunity to look this up.

From FCC rules, part 97.119(g) (emphasis added):