Band / Distance Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ObiHann

Just curious, if a band exists that would allow simplex on distances up to 20/30 miles? I'm just studying for my exam now and hope to be licensed end of year or early next year. A few friends and myself are hoping to get into it. We were at first planning on only looking at the 2m band however an additional person has showed interest and they are quit a while out.

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
With suitable antennas, 2m simplex at 20-30 miles is quite doable.

LtDoc

VHF/UHF is a line-of-sight area. If there are large obstructions in the way (hills/mountains/etc.) the usable range is reduced. The best -simple- solution to that sort of thing is a taller antenna. If the two antennas can 'see' each other, no reason why you can't talk to them. There are limits to that though.
The HF bands can 'see' over the horizon when VHF/UHF can't. That's before signals start bouncing off of the various layers of the ionosphere. The lower you go in frequency, the more 'further' over the horizon the radio can 'see'. (And if that isn't a simplification, I don't know what is!) And the 'catch' to all of it is that "Momma Nature" controls the whole thing with 'her' propagation. Some days you'll do good to get across the street, if 'she's in one of 'her' moods.
Have fun.
- 'Doc

ObiHann

VHF/UHF is a line-of-sight area. If there are large obstructions in the way (hills/mountains/etc.) the usable range is reduced. The best -simple- solution to that sort of thing is a taller antenna. If the two antennas can 'see' each other, no reason why you can't talk to them. There are limits to that though.