Old Radios (Sort of...?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

acyddrop

Premium Subscriber
Hi all,

I'm new to the hobby as an active participant but I've been around it with my dad pretty much entire life. So I've got to see a LOT of rig, but I need to define OLD when I say "old". Because for me an old radio is a vintage Helicrafters or an old Heathkit rig or even older than that (Keep in mind my dad was licensed right after his return home from the Korean war). When I say old, I really mean sometime before 2000 and after 1980 which gives us a 20 year window. Oddly enough (and I digress here) when I was younger I disliked anything old, but as I've grown up I developed a very keen fondness for the old rigs my dad had collected and really cherish them. There is nothing like that old tube glow in the middle of the night to remind you that this thing is really working, that something is going on. Plus when you're 6 the heater lights chase away closet monsters, lets be honest.

But getting a bit more modern, but still old enough. I've developed a fondness for older model digital rigs (no more knobs turning strings inside your Helicrafter rig). I'm talking rigs like the IC-730 or the IC-735 or the Kenwood TS440 (Dot problems aside). Lots of folks (especially new hams like myself) dismiss these older rigs, or if not dismiss them just flat out assume they're old and junky. Well that couldn't be further from the truth.

Sure sure, they don't have IF DSP (or any DSP for that matter) but some will argue that the receive and transmit of the AM in the IC-735 is second to none even today. You may have to have some outlay of cash once you get one (I did) to get it aligned, cleaned up and all ship shape. But that (at least for me) wasn't all that expensive at all ($70 or so). With a few modern gadgets, which in my opinion you might need/want even with modern rigs these radios will do a bang up job for you.