Distress call

Status
Not open for further replies.

WX2CIB

I have a question regarding a General Class question.

G2B11
What frequency should be used to send a distress call?

Answer:
Whatever frequency has the best chance of communicating the distress message.

My question:
I am an EMT/ham operator with access to both at all times. How would I identify
myself? Using my ham call sign - KD2BMU or my call sign from my ambulance
service - Guilfoyle 473?

Dave
KD2BMU

kayn1n32008

ØÆSØ
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9780; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.8+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0.0.600 Mobile Safari/534.8+)

Depends on what frequency. If on the 'company' frequency then using your company call sign. If on Amatuer radio then your amateur call sign.

N2AL

Coming from a public servant, this is what I would do.

If I on an amateur frequency, I would use my Callsign.

If I were on a public safety frequency, I would use my badge number or car/truck number. Example : if your car/truck number was 101. "101A to dispatch."

I hope this helps.

Andrew L.
KK4IFN

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

n5ims

You should use whatever will cause the least amount of confusion to the other party. As was indicated above, if you're on a ham frequency, they expect a ham call sign so that should be used. On an EMS company frequency, they expect your EMS call sign so that should be used.

On 911, the ham call sign would confuse matters and slow down any response, as would your EMS call sign. That said, telling 911 that you're an EMT could be helpful (they generally understand that) and instead of going through the full script they may accept your evaluation of the situation if explained in terms that they normally would use with their EMS units.

robertmac

Premium Subscriber
And if out of cell range

Not every place is covered by cells. Lots of times you may need your work radio or ham radio.

SCPD

QRT
Needing Aid