How To Enhance Your Scanning Experience

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rasa

This i guess is a very general question.Im about a week old in this scanning hobby and i quite like it.I wonder though where should i take it to the next step?Im still learning to program the scanner(i have a 396) and still probably havent listened to that whole sea of talk out there.however at times it gets kinda a lil repitative listening the same ol frequencies that i have so far so i wonder where to next?
What do u all do listeing to ur scanner?how do u guys make it more and more interesting?do u try to play some mental games or something like that?Hear something and go right to where the action is(i beleive its being a 'stringer' if im not wrong?)?Ye so wat do u all do?Is ur scanner ur lil baby?lollzzz

ryangassxx

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Well there's all sorts of different things you can do.... One thing is to hook up your scanner to your sound card on your computer and do things like ACARS or run trunking programs. You can also experiment with all sorts of antennas and try to listen to different areas of the radio spectrum.. One thing that I'm sort of getting interested in now is satellites.. You can actually listen to satellites in space if you have a good enough antenna...

I do this thing now where I program my scanner with a whole bunch of MilAir frequencies and scan them, then I hook my scanner up to my computer and run a scanner recording program. I configure the recorder to only record when a sound is made from the scanner... I leave this on all day while I'm out or at work, then when I get back I see what my computer has "captured"... You can run this setup to monitor all sorts of hit or miss type freqs. I think i might try it during the next shuttle launch and have it programmed with all sorts of NASA frequencies. It's a good way to keep a constant ear out for activity..

subclavius

I've got a 396 too, and here's some of the things I do: