RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Arkansas Radio Discussion Forum

Arkansas Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Arkansas.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2013, 2:33 PM
   
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: crossett, ar 71635
Posts: 2
Default bigbuck52

Is there a scanner out there for AWIN? I have a pro 135 which only takes 6 numbers for frequency.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 9:27 AM
poppafred's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Central Arkansas
Posts: 475
Default

Anything that will receive P25 digital.

I have a RS Pro 197 and a GRE 500. I listen to AWIN on both of them almost constantly, only break is while sleeping but they are both on and listening even then.
__________________
Fred - KK5AA
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Pro 2004 -- Pro 91 -- Pro 97 -- Pro 197 -- PSR 500
Icom IC-7000 -- Kenwood TM-V708a -- Yeasu FT-60R
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2013, 9:09 PM
   
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: crossett, ar 71635
Posts: 2
Default

Popafred, thanks for the info- guess I need to cough up the cash and get a new scanner. lol
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:33 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Blytheville, AR
Posts: 28
Default

Has anyone ever tried buying the actual motorola spectra that ASP uses and have the freqs put in? Receiving only of course.. I just figured that would sound a lot better and get a lot better quality. My trunk tracker won't pick up everything that comes across a channel like a real radio will. Practical? Possible?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2013, 11:44 PM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,063
Default

To hear a P-25 system using an P-25 radio, the radio MUST affiliate with the system. Any UNATHORIZED radio affiliating on the system will be killed remotely. In other words, it will be made a paperweight with a few keypresses. On the older Type II systems you could get away with using an mobile or HT with TX disabled. Not on an P-25 system. So spending the $3,000.00 or more on an HT or mobile would be a waste. Spend the $100.00 to $500.00 on a digital scanner. Any model from the RS PRO-96/2096 up works fine on almost all the AWIN sites. For the few current 700 MHz sites you will need one of the models in the generation after the 96 series.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2013, 7:41 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Russellville, AR
Posts: 49
Default listening

Not necessarily true... You can use a Motorola radio (or any P25 capable for that matter) to scan the frequencies of the voice channels at the sites you are interested in- WITHOUT affiliation of any kind. It just potentially won't track a single talkgroup like being affiliated will allow you to do. There are extensive discussions of this over at the batlabs forums. Just takes some research and programming know-how. You'll have to register at the batlabs forums to find the info- search for "ASTRO25 scanning"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2013, 7:54 AM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 8,063
Default

And again, you will still pay 3K plus for a radio. If you don't know the ins and outs of programming it, you will just have an expensive brick. If anyone out there has that kind of bucks to toss around, send some my way. I don't need 3K plus... Just a couple of hundred for a new digiscanner, and new HD for the now paperweight laptop LOL!

__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
Mod for AR, LA, MS and TN
Scanology, its the path to monitoring happiness!
Support your local Scanologists!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2013, 12:03 PM
iamhere300's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,126
Default

Not anywhere near 3k. You can buy P25, trunking radios for street cost of $1250.00 all day long. That still leaves the dealer a fair profit. Many dealers are selling these.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions