Horrible Sound

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckypph

Premium Subscriber
Lets get the "I'm a newbie" out of the way so I can open the door to sounding dumb if needs be.

I have a live feed I run and have been for a good bit now. I run into horrible sound quality and am not sure how to fix it. I use a Radio Shack Pro96 with a 3.5 Aux plugged into the Line In slot on the back of an ancient computer. If I plug the jack all the way in the feedback is extreme to say the least and drowns any vocal out. I pull it just about half way out and the feedback is gone however the vocal quality is low and almost echoish hard to hear/understand even kind of like its over amplified to an extent. All that said what do I need to do to fix it and if options are available Id like to know them. Really don't want to spend a lot of cash on this, rather just pull the plug if it gets into some of the ideas I have heard to this point.

leaf

Premium Subscriber
Lucky, I'm a radio noob too, but the peeps on this board are very helpful so I'm sure someone will chime in . .

My 2 cents would be.. Are you sure this is a feedback loop? Does it only happen when you open the microphone, or just whenever you plug the scanner in to the computer? I would identify if it is mic/speaker feedback first.

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
Sounds like a bad cable or bad jack or both. Also the key words here may be ancient computer and ancient scanner.

The best feeds use a scanner with a Record-Out jack which has a stable audio output, instead of an external speaker or headphone jack .

Last edited:

SCPD

QRT
I pull it just about half way out and the feedback is gone however the vocal quality is low and almost echoish hard to hear/understand even kind of like its over amplified to an extent.