RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Budget and Entry Level Transceivers

Budget and Entry Level Transceivers For discussion of budget or entry level radios such as Baofeng, Wouxun, Puxing and other radio communications designated as commercial but not targeted for Amateur or GMRS. Also included are MURS and ISM 900MHz designed radios.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2012, 8:39 PM
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Default Baofeng UV5R Programming cable issue

Have had my UV5R for a week and programmed some of it manually but that got old fast so I decided to order a USB programming cable for it.

Specs:
Windows 7 machine with 14 USB ports (3 open)
I have a lot of experience with windows systems and hardware
Cable is the standard two pin USB cable and came with drivers

When I plug in the cable to ANY USB port absolutely nothing happens. No "du du" sound, no new hardware in the device manager... nothing.

I install the driver, nothing, the backup driver, nothing.. Multiple "if all else fails" drivers from the internet... NOTHING.

Reboot, nothing....

Do I have a bad cable here? When I plug it into the UV5R the transmit light comes on for a while and then goes out and it seems as if the radio is receiving traffic (even with the antenna disconnected) but no audio through computer's speakers or the handheld.

I've tried manually adding a comm port through the device manager... and again no luck.

I'm at a loss. All I can think is bad cable but maybe somebody else has another idea.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Chris Hartzell
AB1RH
Sponsored links

Old 08-31-2012, 11:39 PM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

If you haven't already looked at my thread on similar issues on a Wouxun and now a new Baofeng:

http://forums.radioreference.com/ama...ble-issue.html