The RadioReference.com Forums

The RadioReference.com Forums (http://forums.radioreference.com/)
-   Budget and Entry Level Transceivers (http://forums.radioreference.com/budget-entry-level-transceivers/)
-   -   Do I Need a License for my BaoFeng UV-5R? (http://forums.radioreference.com/budget-entry-level-transceivers/263083-do-i-need-license-my-baofeng-uv-5r.html)

coollearner 03-21-2013 1:00 AM

Do I Need a License for my BaoFeng UV-5R?

Hi, I'm new here. I'm a beginner of Ham Radios. Actually I don't know much about it now , but I'm very interested and want to learn more about it. I've just bought BaoFeng UV-5R from radioddity.com. I'm aware that some radios require a license to use with. I wonder if this model needs a license, too. I haven't started to use it yet.

QDP2012 03-21-2013 10:28 AM

Welcome to RR,

Without a license, it is legal to use for receive-only. A license is needed for transmitting. Be careful. Reportedly, that radio is able to also transmit out-of-amateur-bands, for which you will not be licensed, and for which there are penalties.

You can find additional information in these forums by using the search tools and looking for the manufacturer's name or the model number as your search word/words. I learned a lot about this radio by doing this. Some of the technical comments are very informative. General opinions are useful too.

Edit: In case you haven't figured this out yet, license-requirements are based upon the band or frequency you wish to use, not the specific radio model. An amateur radio license is required for transmitting in the amateur bands regardless of equipment used to do so. Similar license requirements exist for business bands, emergency services, GMRS, etc.

Hope this helps,

W9BU 03-21-2013 11:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by QDP2012 (Post 1938198)
A license is needed for transmitting.