RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Topic Specific Forums > CB Radio Forum

CB Radio Forum Discussions regarding Citizens Band Radio (CB)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2011, 10:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default I Need Help from the cb god's

I'm running a Galaxy 44v in a 05 Freightliner Columbia day cab. When I first took the job i hooked the radio up to the factory coax and old antennas that were on the truck just to get by for awhile. After a week or two the radio developed a bad squeal. I bought a wilson 2000 and mounted it to the grab rail above the back window.also ran a 4 gauge ground strap from the mount to the muffler bracket that runs to the frame of the truck. The radio is still squealing like a stuck hog, swr's were 3.5 so we started cuttin the whip. after taking about 1 1/2 inches off the swrs are only down to 3 on 1,20,and 40. we stopped cutting because it didnt seem like we were gaining much ground on the swrs and the radio was still squealing...we took the radio out of my truck and hooked it up in a different truck (same yr,make and model) the radio worked fine...no squeal....put it back in my truck ....yep still squealing.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2011, 6:48 PM
freqs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: warren michigan
Posts: 1,102
Default

Sounds like it could be a Bad ground to antenna or radio check that first .run a ground wire from the antenna to the frame .Those truck have non metal doors and rubber mounted cabs so its a big issue with grounding .
Ive had issues for years with the Mack R D I drive
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2011, 8:02 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 410
Default

Running a wire from the antenna to a ground on the frame will do you NO good. There is a VAST difference between electrical ground and RF ground. Running a wire is an old wives tale.

Your problem is the SWR. 3:1 is completely unacceptable. Your radio will not put out full power. And because of the bad SWR, you are getting RF back into your radio and causing the squeal.

You really need to get your antenna onto a decent grounplane (not a wire to the frame). The grab handles are the worst options. Look at your roof, your hood, ANYWHERE that there is metal. If that is not possible, look for an antenna that does not need a groundplane. A 1/2 wave is ground independent and is common for fiberglass trucks.

Give this a read. It is targeted towards ham radio folks, but it applies just the same to CBs.

Antenna Problems

Antenna Mounts <---- Read up on "far removed groundplanes".

Hope this helps,

WM
__________________
EMT Paramedic, Wyoming State firefighter1/2/ADO, Redcard Engine Boss, Wyoming extrication instructor
High Angle Rescue Tech (HART), Haz-Mat technician
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2011, 8:13 PM
roadranger's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 318
Default Do you have...

A quallcom, or other annoying gadgets that might interfere on any channel? Maybe some electronic sensor?
__________________
Icom IC-V8, tekkom vhf-murs
RS HTX-10, RS PRO 82, RS PRO 91, PRO 528
Alinco DJ-296, DX-70T
Kenwood TS-430S


Two antennas met on a rooftop--, The wedding was O.K., but the reception was great!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2011, 6:15 PM
dRanger369's Avatar    
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SanFrancisco CA East Bay Delta Area
Posts: 1
Default

Still having this problem? If so, let me know, I may be able to help.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2011, 9:07 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dRanger369 View Post
Still having this problem? If so, let me know, I may be able to help.
I backed off the rf gain and mic gain..that took care of the squeal for the most part..I'm not able to get the swr's under 2.5...i'm guessing that's because of the poor ground..so basically it's tolerable but it's not working at its full potential. I'm still open to any ideas.. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2011, 2:32 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Havelock, NC
Posts: 122
Default

rf gain is only your receive. id venture to say you wont get out much further than across the street with the noise when skips clouding the band.

start saving for a new radio. or repairs at the very least, it will only take the abuse from the high swr for so long. If your unable to utilize a suitable ground plane, look for a firestick antenna.

CATALOG Main Page (Frame Setup)

can likely be found alittle cheaper on amazon or something of the same. just make sure your buying a whole kit. you cant mix and match brackets and coax with these antennas. Select a lenght to suit your clearance restrictions.

Last edited by vdubb16; 03-16-2011 at 2:35 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2011, 2:02 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Warner Robins,GA
Posts: 83
Default

I always used a francis antenna when I was trucking.
__________________
WD4BRB
RS PRO96
ICOM 2100
ICOM V8
COBRA 29
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2011, 8:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdubb16 View Post
rf gain is only your receive. id venture to say you wont get out much further than across the street with the noise when skips clouding the band.

start saving for a new radio. or repairs at the very least, it will only take the abuse from the high swr for so long. If your unable to utilize a suitable ground plane, look for a firestick antenna.

CATALOG Main Page (Frame Setup)

can likely be found alittle cheaper on amazon or something of the same. just make sure your buying a whole kit. you cant mix and match brackets and coax with these antennas. Select a lenght to suit your clearance restrictions.
I guess i don't understand...i have a brand new antenna.. what good is a firestick gonna do if i supposedly dont have a good ground...isnt there sumthing out there that will hook up to my wilson that will act like a ground....?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2011, 8:07 PM
gewecke's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mellowyellow View Post
I guess i don't understand...i have a brand new antenna.. what good is a firestick gonna do if i supposedly dont have a good ground...isnt there sumthing out there that will hook up to my wilson that will act like a ground....?

Ummm,leave your wilson on the curb? Then it's grounded.
....Sorry!


n9zas
__________________
"Whatever doesn't kill you...will make you stronger"!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-16-2011, 9:50 PM
ST-Bob's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Worcester, MA, USA
Posts: 494
Default

A "ground" is not necessarily the same as a "ground-plane". CB antennas need what's known as a counterpoise - a flat metal surface for the 'bottom half' of the wave to reflect from. Unless you want an 18 foot tall whip you need antennas with coils to shorten them and a ground-plane to provide the 'other half' of the waveform.

On a vehicle with a metal roof, the best place to put the antenna is the center of the roof. On a vehicle without a good ground-plane (like a fiberglass boat or truck with a fiberglass cab roof or sleeper) you must use a non-ground-plane type of antenna or it simply will not work properly. You cannot get good SWRs when you use the wrong type antenna or improperly mount the correct antenna (mounting a ground-plane antenna on a mirror for example).

Find a reputable dealer who knows what he's talking about. Stop cutting the damned antenna down. Remember the old saying "I cut this board 3 times and it's still too short". Well, that's what you're doing with your present antenna. It's either the wrong antenna, mounted on the wrong place, or already way too short.
__________________
Bob Peloquin - KB1VUA
Uniden HomePatrol-1, BC100XLT,
R/S PRO-30, Pro-106, Pro-163 (feed provider)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2011, 10:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions