RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Topic Specific Forums > CB Radio Forum

CB Radio Forum Discussions regarding Citizens Band Radio (CB)

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2011, 6:57 PM

Unhappy Need help badly on cb antenna

I just got my Cobra 148 GTL CB, had it installed in my pickup, just temporary I am using a inadequate antenna,,I live in the Joliet, Illinois area,,,WHAT I NEED TO KNOW IS WHAT IS THE BEST ANTENNA FOR MY UNIT AND MOST IMPORTANTLY WHARE CAN I HAVE MY UNIT TUNED UP TO THE ANTENNA????? I am new to this and REALLY NEED HELP, PLEASE, Thanks to all for the help,,,,,I cannot find any business in or near Joliet, Ill that can do this, unless I'm looking the wrong way-----PLEASE, I REALLY NEED THE HELP HERE, I'M NEW TO THIS.------looking for that place that can tune my CB-----------also I was told that the Wilson 5000 magnet mount antenna would be good for my unit--or will it be????????????????---frustrated
Sponsored links

Old 03-08-2011, 8:52 PM

OK, I'm going to give you the number one absolutely correct answer to all your radio, antenna and coax questions.

IT DEPENDS.

Best antenna for CB, it depends, mobile or base, how much do you want to spend, skip or just down the road, directional or Omni?

By an antenna that fits what you want to use your radio for. Use the shortest length of good 50 ohm coax you can and use an antenna designed for CB use. Do this and tuning will not be required to get it to work fine.
Old 03-08-2011, 8:53 PM
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzenut View Post