RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > CB Radio Forum

CB Radio Forum - Discussions regarding Citizens Band Radio (CB)

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2018, 11:35 AM

Default Newbie needing some help

Hey guys , recently acquired a free 1973 model SBE 23 channel Sidebander 2 CB radio . It came with a dual antenna setup . Looks very vintage . Seems to be in decent shape .
My question is , how can I mock up this setup to see if it works properly or not . I'm new to the CB hobby and would like to see if I can get SKIP with this old unit . . Where and how should I set up the antennas and how should they be oriented ?. Thanks guys !
Sponsored links
Old 04-09-2018, 8:32 PM

Not sure what you mean.
Dual antenna setup?
If you mean a beam antenna made up of horizontal and vertical elements, they came with a switch to switch from vertical to horizontal.
Vertical is good for local talking and horzontal is better for long range
side band
Old 04-09-2018, 9:25 PM

Everything pretty much depends on your vehicle, the antenna mounts, the condition of the radio and antennas, Also depends on if you keep the dual antennas or change to just a single antenna.

You can take a low-end piece of crap CB and top of the line antenna(s), and can skip with the best of them. A friend of mine got some good skip with his 23 channel radio and a K40 magnet mounted antenna. You should get some really good skips with your setup after installing and tuning your antennas.

The above mentioned friend ran with that 23 channel radio, until his father bought him a Cobra 128. If we would get mad at him, one of us would call out, “Meet on 24.” Usually, it was cause he was being really big “D” to everyone else.
Old 04-10-2018, 6:24 AM
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio