Routing cable

Status
Not open for further replies.

Santacarl

Hello all,

I'm new to this world of radio. I am starting with a scanner with the goal of getting to a HAM license and since I live out in the 'boonies' I'm thinking there's a possibility that I'll need an outdoor antenna to pick up some areas of interest. I don't have the scanner yet so I haven't tested reception with just the indoor antenna yet. I'm just thinking ahead.

I am looking at the Unidens....the BCDx36HP line which covers a pretty wide frequency range. So when it comes to cable I'm wondering the best way to go.

I should caveat that with this factor.....the 'spousal unit' factor! I need to move the antenna away from the old homestead to where it's less apparent. So, I'm looking at a run of around 150 feet.

I understand that most signal loss occurs when you transmit and reception is somewhat less problematic but here's the rub. In order to place the antenna at 'that' location I would have to go underground..... So here are a few issues I'm confused over and would appreciate any feedback to help spin me up to speed.

At that distance (150') and the frequencies covered by the scanner (assuming I can go under ground) which cable is best suited?

Since the goal is HAM later on it wouldn't hurt if I could find a coax that I could use for that also.....just in case...

If I can go underground...does that require conduit or do you just bury the coax in the ground?

Thanks...

SC

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
I suggest dramatically decreasing that feedline length by using antenna configurations which you might be able to "disguise" as something else or maybe blend in so its more spouse friendly? Less feedline will improve reception tremendously too. 73, n9zas

Santacarl