RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Colorado Radio Discussion Forum

Colorado Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Colorado.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 1:01 AM
dw2872's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central and Southern Colorado
Posts: 731
Default New Police TG for Denver Intl Airport on the Denver Public Safety EDACS

New Police talk group on-the-air for Denver Intl Airport on the Denver Public Safety EDACS

TG-1655

First heard on Jan 2, 2013 around 4:30 pm and has been very busy ever since. The dispatch radio or LID is 615 and 660 (probably others) and the police unit call signs start with 9XX.

I'll admit I have not been paying attention to the DPD - DIA relationship lately. Is this the DPD Airport Bureau? I am wondering if this is a new patch channel or if it is a new TG they are going to use full-time.

Is anybody up to speed on this?

Thanks!
__________________
Dan

Pro-106 (saving to Pro96Com), 396XT (saving audio and metadata w/ProScan), and SDR dongles
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 1:11 AM
dw2872's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central and Southern Colorado
Posts: 731
Default

I just found DIA PD-1 in the RR database under Aurora's EDACS system but never heard it on there and it is not currently on Aurora. I am hearing TG-1655 on Denver's Public Safety EDACS instead.
__________________
Dan

Pro-106 (saving to Pro96Com), 396XT (saving audio and metadata w/ProScan), and SDR dongles
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 8:17 AM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

DIA is run by the City and County of Denver so the officers at DIA are DPD officers. All of the Denver EDACS systems have a single set of TG's so in the event of one system failing, TG duplication isn't a problem if users switch to another system for back up reasons.

I'm guessing that Aurora has some of the public safety side TG's for mutual aid reasons. I've heard DIA on Aurora a while back, but not recently.
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 8:46 AM
scanlist's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 1,916
Default Not really new talkgroups in the recent sense

DPD 1 Talkgroup moved to 1655 and Paramedic Talkgroup moved to 1657 several years ago on the DIA EDACS system.

EDACS systems in the area have roaming capabilities for system users and it is not uncommon to see this occur on a random basis.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 11:30 AM
dw2872's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central and Southern Colorado
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanlist View Post
DPD 1 Talkgroup moved to 1655 and Paramedic Talkgroup moved to 1657 several years ago on the DIA EDACS system
I wouldn't have been able to tell that happened by looking at the RR database.

Also, the last time DPD DIA police popped up on TG-1651 on Denver's EDACS was October 4, 2012 and that ended at 7:30 pm. So it has been a while since they have been on Denver's system. I am thinking that is probably why nobody submitted it to the Denver DB since it is a very rare occurrence.

Then again, I have not seen this TG on Aurora's in the last few months either. Does anyone listen to them occasionally? Where have you heard DPD DIA units? In the last few months, not 1655 on either system until Jan 2, 2013...
__________________
Dan

Pro-106 (saving to Pro96Com), 396XT (saving audio and metadata w/ProScan), and SDR dongles
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 12:08 PM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

I have heard DIA DPD on 1655 on both Denver and Aurora's system. They are always at the airport. I wana say someone went through the radio and found the TG they wanted to talk on, just on the wrong system.
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 12:23 PM
dw2872's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central and Southern Colorado
Posts: 731
Default

All the 9XX DIA PD units have been on the Denver system TG non-stop since Jan 2, 2013 at 4:30. I was surprised to be able to hear them at all now regularly.
__________________
Dan

Pro-106 (saving to Pro96Com), 396XT (saving audio and metadata w/ProScan), and SDR dongles
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 1:15 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 623
Default

OK...
DW, 1655 has been our primary dispatch TG at the airport for at least 3 years. It's on the radio as "DIA DPD 1". I don't know why you're suddenly hearing us there, because we've been there all along.
We do now have citywide all-calls broadcast from downtown, but that's a relatively recent addition (last 6 months or so.) If you're hearing us on the Denver PS system or Aurora's, perhaps they (finally) decided to monitor us. Other than DFD's link for their purposes, we don't monitor the city or Aurora.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 1:23 PM
dw2872's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central and Southern Colorado
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0doz View Post
I don't know why you're suddenly hearing us there, because we've been there all along
Good question, and that's why I put the question up here. I wonder what changed (or what got added).

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0doz View Post
If you're hearing us on the Denver PS system or Aurora's, perhaps they (finally) decided to monitor us. Other than DFD's link for their purposes, we don't monitor the city or Aurora.
I see this TG was always on DIAs trunked system which I don't hear from my location. Well it looks like Denver does finally want to monitor DPD at DIA... and now the rest of us get to also.
__________________
Dan

Pro-106 (saving to Pro96Com), 396XT (saving audio and metadata w/ProScan), and SDR dongles

Last edited by dw2872; 01-06-2013 at 2:05 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 2:30 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Map Page AA-18
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0doz View Post
OK...
DW, 1655 has been our primary dispatch TG at the airport for at least 3 years. It's on the radio as "DIA DPD 1". I don't know why you're suddenly hearing us there, because we've been there all along..
If a hobbyist relies on the RadioReference database for the download to the scanner, I can understand why it wasn't heard.. The TG was just placed there today. I manually added it to my Win500 list but future downloaders will have it in their radio.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 2:52 PM
dw2872's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central and Southern Colorado
Posts: 731
Default

Yep, Erik just updated them today... Thanks Erik!

Also, note the following info on those TGs on any systems not DIA... "These Talkgroups are not active all the time on this system. They are only active occasionally for roaming or backup purposes. If you wish to monitor these Talkgroups, monitor their home system"

Changed Talkgroup Category: Denver International Airport to Denver International Airport abqscan 2013-01-06 12:17:12

Updated General Trunked System Information abqscan 2013-01-06 12:15:56

Changed Talkgroup Category: Denver International Airport to Denver International Airport abqscan 2013-01-06 12:15:19

Added Talkgroup 1655 Denver International Airport Police Channel-1 abqscan 2013-01-06 12:12:11
__________________
Dan

Pro-106 (saving to Pro96Com), 396XT (saving audio and metadata w/ProScan), and SDR dongles

Last edited by dw2872; 01-06-2013 at 3:20 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 3:05 PM
dw2872's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central and Southern Colorado
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abqscan View Post
All of the Denver EDACS systems have a single set of TG's so in the event of one system failing, TG duplication isn't a problem if users switch to another system for back up reasons.

I'm guessing that Aurora has some of the public safety side TG's for mutual aid reasons. I've heard DIA on Aurora a while back, but not recently.
This is great for back-up and mutual aid. This is good to know. Thanks!
__________________
Dan

Pro-106 (saving to Pro96Com), 396XT (saving audio and metadata w/ProScan), and SDR dongles
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 3:31 PM
Spirit's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 263
Question

So if I just put TG 1655 & TG 1657 in Denver bank could I hit them up north? Would I have to put in a different CC?
__________________
Thanks In Advance! -Don
Monitoring: Loveland PD/FD | Ft. Collins PD/FD | Larimer County Sheriff
Pro-197 | Pro-106 | Pro-2096 | Pro-96
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 8:36 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Map Page AA-18
Posts: 335
Default

The way my PRO-106 worked, all that needed to be done was to add the two talkgroups to the chart. I was receiving the DIA traffic immediately, it worked as though 1655 had always been in the DTRS system on my radio. It picked up all the parameters all the rest of the talkgroups possessed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit View Post
So if I just put TG 1655 & TG 1657 in Denver bank could I hit them up north? Would I have to put in a different CC?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 5:20 PM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit View Post
So if I just put TG 1655 & TG 1657 in Denver bank could I hit them up north? Would I have to put in a different CC?

Think of TG 1655 as an on demand patch. It isn't on all the time, however, if you monitor Denver and see this TG, the database will reflect what it is.
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 6:04 PM
Spirit's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 263
Default

When I put this TG 1655 & 1657 in my EDACS Denver bank it keeps putting it as 00-000. What should I do to get it to take these TG's?
__________________
Thanks In Advance! -Don
Monitoring: Loveland PD/FD | Ft. Collins PD/FD | Larimer County Sheriff
Pro-197 | Pro-106 | Pro-2096 | Pro-96
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 6:09 PM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

Try putting in 12-147 for 1655, and 12-151 for 1657.
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 6:34 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 623
Default

Hearing DIA on the PS trunk must be a "side" function of the all-call broadcasts I mentioned above. I didn't realize that they would just leave it linked all the time. Cool!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 7:14 PM
dw2872's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central and Southern Colorado
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0doz View Post
We do now have citywide all-calls broadcast from downtown, but that's a relatively recent addition (last 6 months or so.) If you're hearing us on the Denver PS system or Aurora's, perhaps they (finally) decided to monitor us.
It's mind-bending to think that DPD's All-Call TG-512 (04-000) (used for armed robbery, officer needs assistance etc broadcasts) on the Denver system is simulcast onto the DIA system's TG-1655 (12-147) for DIA officers to hear (using radio ID 23) and then we can hear that same all-call re-broadcast (in the DIAs mix of police and the all-call) back onto the Denver system's re-broadcast of TG-1655.
__________________
Dan

Pro-106 (saving to Pro96Com), 396XT (saving audio and metadata w/ProScan), and SDR dongles
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2013, 6:40 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 623
Default

Yep. I'm thinking that's exactly what's happening.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions