RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Colorado Radio Discussion Forum


Colorado Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Colorado.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2017, 11:33 PM
Newbie
   
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 2
Default Colorado Springs DTRS

Hi. I need a bit of help understanding which tower site in el paso county covers into colorado springs. I need to program my dad's pro96 with police and fire. I see several option for el Paso county but I don't see one specifically for colorado springs. He lives in the center of town on the upper edge of the south west police district. I dont live there so i dont have any way to experiment with the several tower sites I see that could cover colorado springs. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2017, 6:45 AM
tyytor's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 289
Default Colorado Springs DTRS

hi this map was in the Wiki for the system, http://wiki.radioreference.com/image...1CoSprings.jpg

looks like site 4-016 Austin Bluffs is in the area of downtown,
others in that area my have more insite?.
__________________
tyytor
The secrecy of my job prevents me from knowing what i am doing.
Pro-2096, BC-296D, Pro-2026, BC-9000XLT, Pro-2052,
BC-350a, Pro-92b, DX-400, Pro-106, BCD436HP ect....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2017, 4:39 PM
Newbie
   
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 2
Default

Wow thanks! That's just what I needed! Tony
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2017, 11:29 PM
snoopyII's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: On the other side of the tracks
Posts: 248
Default

I don't live anywhere near Colorado Springs either, but just looking at the coverage maps and the assigned frequencies to each of the sites, I'd start with Cheyenne Mtn, Cedar Heights and Austin Bluffs. Between those 3 sites, you should be able to get pretty much all of what you're looking for...

Just my .02 worth.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2017, 12:43 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 28
Default

Cheyenne Mountain actually broadcasts to Pueblo area. Templeton Gap, Ski summit, Peterson Air Force Base and Stanley Canyon are good ones to use too.
__________________
Meezy -Uniden HomePatrol -El Paso County
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2017, 4:44 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Colorado Springs CO
Posts: 342
Thumbs up

My scanners are set for Austin Bluffs, Cedar Heights and Ski Summit when I am downtown or the west side.

Cheyenne Mtn is a Zone 6 tower. El Paso are Zone 4. I have seen Zone 6 is only good for Colorado Springs and El Paso County when there is a big incident in the south and southeastern incident then traffic bleeds onto Cheyenne Mtn.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2017, 9:17 PM
Spitfire8520's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,527
Default

Echoing the last few comments, you must use a Zone 4 (RFSS 4) site in order to successfully monitor El Paso County and Colorado Springs.

Do not use sites in any other Zone as they are denied from carrying those sorts of traffic. This means sites that one should not program sites like Cheyenne Mountain and others if your goal is to listen to Colorado Springs.

Colorado Springs will eventually be switching to a simulcast site. Some discussion of that can be found in the Simulcast coming to Colorado Springs thread.
__________________
Mile-High Spitfire
RadioShack Pro-106 RadioShack Pro-652 RTL-SDR
MNN-250
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 12:14 AM
Spirit's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 332
Question

Does Cheyenne Mountain still pick up El Paso County Sheriff? I see that tower is in zone 6.
__________________
Thanks In Advance! -Don
Monitoring: Loveland PD/FD | Ft. Collins FD | Larimer County Sheriff
Pro-197 | Pro-106 | Pro-2096 | Pro-96
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 9:18 AM
Spitfire8520's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit View Post
Does Cheyenne Mountain still pick up El Paso County Sheriff? I see that tower is in zone 6.
I do not believe Cheyenne Mountain has ever had El Paso County Sheriff. The only exception I know of are the mutual aid channels.

Restating my previous reply, El Paso County and Colorado Springs can only be found on the Zone 4 (RFSS 4) sites.
__________________
Mile-High Spitfire
RadioShack Pro-106 RadioShack Pro-652 RTL-SDR
MNN-250

Last edited by Spitfire8520; Yesterday at 9:25 AM.. Reason: Applying patch to reply.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
colorado springs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions