RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Colorado Radio Discussion Forum

Colorado Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Colorado.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2006, 7:10 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glenwood Springs, CO
Posts: 242
Arrow 'Simulcast Site'

I think the meaning of the term in this case is that it will be the same frequencies simulcasting from from several sites. It will loook like a single site (site number, data stream, etc.). but will be a wide coverage as all the sites are broadcasting the same info. Radios lock onto the site, but the coverage will be over a larger area since the signal is broadcast from several locations.

Requires extra equipment, and timing has to be exactly on to avoid hetrodyne (in an analog system). Phoenix runs that type of setup.

You might check out the other 700 Mhz sites that were mentioned a month or so ago, bet they are on the same frequency.

Chuck
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2006, 7:34 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Adams County Colorado
Posts: 147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanlist
Unless they start denying affiliations of those talkgroups to the wide coverage 800 sites in the area I wouldn't toss the 96 or 2096 yet.

A shame that Uniden had no intention to use the 296/796 platform for 700 MHz.

Note to the radioshack folks. Time to get your *** in gear on 700 MHz trunking because it has officially arrived.

Phil.
Thanks Phil. I'll probably give it til December or January to see what the radio shack folks come up with.
__________________
Steve
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2006, 9:17 PM
jimmnn's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanlist
Unless they start denying affiliations of those talkgroups to the wide coverage 800 sites in the area I wouldn't toss the 96 or 2096 yet.

A shame that Uniden had no intention to use the 296/796 platform for 700 MHz.

Note to the radioshack folks. Time to get your *** in gear on 700 MHz trunking because it has officially arrived.

Phil.
And we're not first the entire state of idaho also, APCO P25 700Mhz.

Jim<
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2006, 10:14 PM
eyes00only's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 2,277
Default

I wish there was an email address where all the members on the RR site could petition Radio Shack to convince GRE to get us a Base & HT 700 MHZ scanner ASAP! ( Erik )

Jerry
__________________
"There is a fine line between 'hobby' and 'mental illness'."
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2006, 10:44 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0nhj
You might check out the other 700 Mhz sites that were mentioned a month or so ago, bet they are on the same frequency.

Chuck
I doubt that this will be the case. DTRS has been a multicast system, not simulcast. The two existing 700 only sites downtown use separate frequencies and they are only blocks apart. Because there are many 700 frequencies available, I doubt if they will resort to simulcast.

If there are plans for Thornton to go to 700 only it will be done by having a mix of 700 only sites and 700/800 sites, with the Thornton radios using the 700 voice channels on the 700/800 sites. We'll see if some 700 voice channels start coming up on sites like Thorodin.
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2006, 10:56 AM
jimmnn's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14,035
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by logitec
I doubt that this will be the case. DTRS has been a multicast system, not simulcast. The two existing 700 only sites downtown use separate frequencies and they are only blocks apart. Because there are many 700 frequencies available, I doubt if they will resort to simulcast.

If there are plans for Thornton to go to 700 only it will be done by having a mix of 700 only sites and 700/800 sites, with the Thornton radios using the 700 voice channels on the 700/800 sites. We'll see if some 700 voice channels start coming up on sites like Thorodin.
Think it might be a gradual metro area trend also, seeing some new Jeffco and Douglas County Id's appearing, much like Adams County radios id's changed when they were reflashed for 700/800.

But no North Metro FD so far.

So much for the better audio on the Pro-96/2096 radios, wonder why RS has no interest in releasing a 700MHz scanner?

Last edited by jimmnn; 10-08-2006 at 10:58 AM..
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2006, 11:24 AM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

Okay, I have asked this question several times. When is RS going to have a 700Mhz ready radio? AKA the new Pro 96. I know for a fact there is a new radio waiting to be released. Why they are waiting, who knows? However, I think they are in denial about 700Mhz already online. The last reply I received was this, "when 700Mhz comes online we will evaluate what the demand is for a radio to monitor it." I smacked my forehead and said it’s already here! Wake up and smell the Coffee.

Here are two e-mail’s to send your letters off to. Now be nice =) and make sure you state that it’s the RS option you DEMAND! Not the, we have for order the “396 & 996”. That you have options on where to spend your hard earned money and would like to invest in RS. Maybe if we let them know there is a demand for this new radio, they will get off of the POT.


customer.relations@RadioShack.com

investor.relations@RadioShack.com
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2006, 11:59 AM
scanlist's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 1,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abqscan
Why they are waiting, who knows?
They are supposedly waiting to see how mot rebanded 3600 systems operate.

Problem is they will be waiting a year or 2 with sprint/nextel delays.

It will not be a problem here as all 4 800 mot 3600 systems in the area are not effected by this.

Directing a customer to buy a 996 from the RS website at $699 is absurd.

Phil.
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2006, 2:49 AM
RISC777's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmnn
Now I'm getting audio on most of the TG that appear, pretty weird.

Jim<
Mon 10-09, 01:00 to 01:45 (on a bcd396t)
IDs 2459, 1851, 1907 no audio
IDs 1033, 17, 23, 8, 1535, 18, 11, 20, 24, 26 with audio
__________________
Doesn't expecting the unexpected make the unexpected expected?
Sponsored links
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2006, 9:28 AM
Rob198's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 30
Default I wonder if....

I winder if the PRO 96 can have a update to make it 700 compatible? Juat a thought
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2006, 9:50 AM
abqscan's Avatar
DataBase Administrator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AOA
Posts: 2,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob198
I winder if the PRO 96 can have a update to make it 700 compatible? Juat a thought
RS says for the 96/2096 to do 700Mhz trunking, it will need a board upgrade and for RS to re-do the FCC paperwork, the guy from Japan didn't like that part, he said "Way too much paperwork, no fun."
__________________
-Erik
I love my SBS-1eR & Mode-S Beast!
MNN-088
Rules and guidelines for forum post content
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2006, 3:07 PM
rckydenver's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 1,437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmnn
BCD-396D/996T are the only current radios I believe that will actually receive and scan APCO P-25 700Mhz transmissions.

Hey Jason add:

1033
2389
2407
3093

to your list now at least one Douglas County radio, more CSP and of course Cherry Creek School busses are happy up north now.

Has anyone found the actual site for 322 yet? Some said around 128th & Colorado but all I can find there is a low cellular array and Thornton City hall is another possibility but can't see any new antennas there.

Jim<
Just logged couple of new ones today, 419 & 2296 on the Pro96com. Others are still the same.
__________________
Tom/MNN 140 My first scanner a Bearcat IV
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2006, 3:28 PM
jimmnn's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 14,035
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by rckydenver
Just logged couple of new ones today, 419 & 2296 on the Pro96com. Others are still the same.
8305 today as well, Rio Grande County SO.

Also I've been logging the two downtown 700 sites 170 and 171 today no real surprises so far.

Jim<

Last edited by jimmnn; 10-09-2006 at 3:50 PM..
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2006, 4:01 PM
eyes00only's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abqscan
Here are two e-mailís to send your letters off to. Now be nice =) and make sure you state that itís the RS option you DEMAND! Not the, we have for order the ď396 & 996Ē. That you have options on where to spend your hard earned money and would like to invest in RS. Maybe if we let them know there is a demand for this new radio, they will get off of the POT.


customer.relations@RadioShack.com

investor.relations@RadioShack.com
Thank you sir.

Jerry
__________________
"There is a fine line between 'hobby' and 'mental illness'."
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2006, 9:34 PM
MMIC's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Inside of the circuit....
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
I doubt that this will be the case. DTRS has been a multicast system, not simulcast. The two existing 700 only sites downtown use separate frequencies and they are only blocks apart. Because there are many 700 frequencies available, I doubt if they will resort to simulcast.
Yes, but this is causing a great waste of frequencies in the Denver metropolitan area. You can watch Arapahoe County, Adams County, Jefferson County, and many other agencies light up many, many sites on a consistent basis. Then there are the control channels eating up a frequency at each site. This is not very efficient, and I would fathom that the trend will be to try and do simulcast where it is affordable and keep with the ASTRO-25 repeater sites elsewhere.

With the downtown 700 sites, I am going to guess that it was more affordable to do them as ASTRO-25 repeater sites because of the expense involved with simulcast. Not to mention there are plenty of 700 MHz pairs available in the area!

Quote:
If there are plans for Thornton to go to 700 only it will be done by having a mix of 700 only sites and 700/800 sites, with the Thornton radios using the 700 voice channels on the 700/800 sites. We'll see if some 700 voice channels start coming up on sites like Thorodin.
I can't imagine that Thornton would be restricted to the 700 MHz coverage. The more likely scenario would be to prefer their radios to the 700 MHz coverage in case there are problems with the 700 MHz simulcast cell. Properly equipped and programmed radios can roam seamlessly between the 800 MHz exclusive, 800 MHz / 700 MHz mixed, and 700 MHz exclusive cells.
Sponsored links
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2006, 10:35 PM
luke-1's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 639
Default

I have been logging site 322 (700Mhz CC) I labeled all the radio ID's with "700", so I could keep track of them.

Today I have been watching Smokey Hill which has both 700 and 800 Freqs. The same radio will show up on Smokey Hill using the 800 Freqs. Thought it was interesting it wouldn't use the 700's especially since there is so little traffic on them.
__________________
Luke
I'm listening to you
MNN 060
KC0VPS
Aurora Online
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2006, 11:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMIC
This is not very efficient, and I would fathom that the trend will be to try and do simulcast where it is affordable and keep with the ASTRO-25 repeater sites elsewhere.
Maybe, but time will tell. There has been no evidence so far of plans to use simulcast on DTRS.
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2006, 7:58 AM
MMIC's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Inside of the circuit....
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by logitec
Maybe, but time will tell. There has been no evidence so far of plans to use simulcast on DTRS.
...except for the 700 MHz simulcast cell currently on the air in Adams county!
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2006, 8:04 AM
MMIC's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Inside of the circuit....
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Today I have been watching Smokey Hill which has both 700 and 800 Freqs. The same radio will show up on Smokey Hill using the 800 Freqs. Thought it was interesting it wouldn't use the 700's especially since there is so little traffic on them.
What is happening there is that if there are one or more radios affiliated with a talk group on a mixed 800/700 site that are not 700 MHz capable, then that talk group will be pushed to 800 MHz for all radios affiliated with that talk group on that site.
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:05 AM
luke-1's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMIC
What is happening there is that if there are one or more radios affiliated with a talk group on a mixed 800/700 site that are not 700 MHz capable, then that talk group will be pushed to 800 MHz for all radios affiliated with that talk group on that site.
The radio ID's showing up on Smokey Hill using the 800's are 700 capable.

I watch 322 and Smokey side by side. The same radio will hit both sites, 700 on 322, 800 on 107, even though there are 700's available on 107.

It appears that Cherry Creek Schools are the only ones allowed to use the 700's on 107. Is it possible to determine not only who gets to use a particular site, but who would get to use a particular set of frequencies on that site, such as the 700's, when a site is set up?
__________________
Luke
I'm listening to you
MNN 060
KC0VPS
Aurora Online
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions