Long Branch, NJ: Man Dies After Tower Jump

Status
Not open for further replies.

KD2DXF

Nobody
Premium Subscriber
Man dies after jumping from Long Branch radio tower, authorities say | NJ.com

"Witnesses at the scene said the man was on the top of the tower for at least an hour, during which time they could see him “swinging” around parts of the tower and could hear him yelling something that was undecipherable"

My question is, why did no one call for police/fire...after an hour you would think that something is wrong and the guy needs help.

b7spectra

EMS Dispatcher
My question is, why did no one call for police/fire...after an hour you would think that something is wrong and the guy needs help.

Funny thing is when I worked as a Paramedic, we would always have to "Uh-Oh Squad" standing around and yelling at us "What took you so long?" I would always quiet them down simply by asking "What time did YOU call us?"

Just hope they send the next of kin a bill for the cost of the job..Ive gotten tired of the -Extreme- sports crowd pushing the safety limit then When it go's bad they start screaming for help...When they succeed they boast the premise of going where they Do Not belong...
No real sympathy for the jumper..I mean really,,,its tantamount to committing faux suicide...How many time are you gonna tempt fate..Become Army Airborne...Youll get all the jump time you can handle.

Last edited:

phillydjdan

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 4.0.4; LG-MS870 Build/IMM76L) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/34.0.1847.114 Mobile Safari/537.36)

A report I saw on this said it was in fact a suicide.

sfd119

Just hope they send the next of kin a bill for the cost of the job..

...because that really promotes your agency in a great light when it hits the media: "NEXT AT 10: GUY DIES OFF OF TOWER, FIRE DEPT SENDS BILL TO FAMILY"