Sweden's Ambulances Can Block Your Radio Signal

Status
Not open for further replies.

beaker7

This seams like a really neat idea but not super practical. People will still be claiming that they didn't know about the ambulance even if there radio turns off.

KK4JUG

Premium Subscriber
What about CD players, mp3 players and satellite radio?

N2JDS

I actually invented the same thing 20 years ago, called it the Yelper Helper. Built from off the shelf parts from radioshack. hard part was getting it to broadcast a signal strong enough to cover the spectrum without breaking FCC laws without getting permission to test. Then looking at satellite radio becoming a thing, and knowing then that a large percentage of people wouldn't be listening to FM radio, gave up on it.

N4GIX

Premium Subscriber
Many years ago I worked as an EMT for Beacon Ambulance Service in Raleigh, NC. One evening, my driver (John) and I were responding to an emergency call in our old reliable chariot, "Beacon 5."

Looking in a rear view mirror, there were a total of 15 flashing red lights, plus the two headlights wig-wagging. On the roof was a Federal Q2 mechanical siren operated by a foot switch. The torque on that monster would literally twist the front end on spin up.

Adding to the audio mayhem was an electronic Federal siren, for which I have forgotten the precise model number.

Any way, eventually our way was blocked by a very slow moving Cadillac battle tank being driven by a little old lady. She was completely oblivious to both the sirens and the lights. We could see the "wash of red light" that was illuminating her car's interior.

After a few frustrating minutes, I reached over and blew the unit's anemic horn. That she heard! In any event, it startled her so much that she jerked the wheel, ran off the road directly into a tree. We had to stop to aid her and call for a backup unit to take over our original call.

Beacon #5 was in the center:
trZMA.jpg

KK4JUG

Premium Subscriber