RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Connecticut Radio Discussion Forum

Connecticut Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Connecticut.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2010, 12:24 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Exclamation New CSP Site Map now online!

Hi All,
I've just finished putting together a new mapping web page for the CSP system. I put it together using info from the RR Connecticut State Police database, the FCC ULS database and some guessing....
You'll notice I've added most of the intellirepeater sites and also I've added the RT 7 Bulls Bridge site. The troop outlines were supplied courtesy of a kml file by dimab. A past post mentioned that the outlines may not all be correct?
Any info, questions, comments, additions or changes would be appreciated. I hope it is helpful for scanning the CSP system.

Enjoy! -Tim
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2010, 12:37 PM
KB1JHU's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milford, CT
Posts: 529
Default

Yeah. Some corrections for the Troop areas. Troop G does not cover Shelton, that's I's. And east of the Housatonic River (Stratford/Milford line) Troop G only covers I-95 and a part of 91 all the way east to the Branford/Guilford line.
__________________
Scott - KB1JHU
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2010, 6:40 PM
izzyj4's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The 2nd village Anson Phelps founded in CT.
Posts: 652
Default

Branford's portion of 95 is covered by Troop F. The G / F Line is the Branford / East Haven line, easily confused, I usually make the same mistake. The Troop I / G line on I-91 is between Exits 2 and 3. There is also a very little portion of I-84 you have in Troop I's territory, that is actually covered by Troop A, I-691 is all of Troop I's. Figured you might have just roughed the line there so no biggie.

As for the tower site, you look to be right on the money.
__________________
Joe "Izzy" Navin
K1JJN
Rigs: BCD396T, BCD996T x 2, BC780XLT x 2, PRO 2006, PRO 2046, BC560XLT, BC350A, Yaesu FT-7800R & VX-6R, TRS-452 & TRS-453.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2010, 2:58 AM
KB1JHU's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Milford, CT
Posts: 529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by izzyj4 View Post
Branford's portion of 95 is covered by Troop F. The G / F Line is the Branford / East Haven line, easily confused, I usually make the same mistake.
I just go by the map the CSP has up: DPS: CSP Troops and Districts Location Map
__________________
Scott - KB1JHU
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2010, 7:51 AM
cg cg is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,923
Default

there are a number of tower locations that have multiple Zones on them. As far as I can tell, there is only one listed for each icon.

chris
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2010, 7:57 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cg View Post
there are a number of tower locations that have multiple Zones on them. As far as I can tell, there is only one listed for each icon.

chris
Have you tried clicking on or checking the "Sidebar" box?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2010, 8:18 PM
izzyj4's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The 2nd village Anson Phelps founded in CT.
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KB1JHU View Post
I just go by the map the CSP has up: DPS: CSP Troops and Districts Location Map
I forgot about that map. I was going off of memory from my old Troop I dispatching days. I-84 is like 95, Troop I does the Major crime stuff and Troop A does the highway since there all three districts (A, I & H) all meet up there. It was always weird through there as we would get a lot of 911 calls hitting the towers along 691 which rolled over to us.
__________________
Joe "Izzy" Navin
K1JJN
Rigs: BCD396T, BCD996T x 2, BC780XLT x 2, PRO 2006, PRO 2046, BC560XLT, BC350A, Yaesu FT-7800R & VX-6R, TRS-452 & TRS-453.

Last edited by izzyj4; 01-17-2010 at 8:20 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2010, 9:29 PM
dimab's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 377
Default

pretty cool. no easy way to do the troop G I95 corridor. otherwise the map should be fairly accurate.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2010, 11:57 AM
motorman105's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Trumbull,CT
Posts: 130
Default

I love the map!! Thanks for all the effort that must have taken!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2010, 7:41 AM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 289
Default

Great map. Don't forget to add troop G site. It is a full trunking site
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2010, 10:37 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 95
Thumbs up

Awesome map. I put a link to it on my website, Cause I think it'd go well with what's already there.

I gotta ask how long it took to do that..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2010, 6:23 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Default

Glad you guys find it useful. It took a bit of time.......Keeps me outta trouble! 73 Tim
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2010, 6:25 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cskib32087 View Post
Great map. Don't forget to add troop G site. It is a full trunking site
Troop G? Can you send me a PM w/ info about what your referring to? Ill be glad to add the site...Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2010, 11:19 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wallingford, CT
Posts: 22
Default

I get a page cannot be found error on your link, http://home.cshore.com/tmik/cspsystem.html.

Did you take it down?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-17-2010, 1:24 PM
dimab's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 377
Default

my map is still good with the overlay
csp12.kml - Google Maps
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:37 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian7M3 View Post
I get a page cannot be found error on your link, http://home.cshore.com/tmik/cspsystem.html.

Did you take it down?
Hi Brian,
Use this new link: Connecticut State Police

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2010, 6:31 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default Open Carrier on CSP

I'm monitoring Troops F,G and I and as of this week ,after there transmission, I'm getting a open carrier signal
I have to resume scanning manually to allow scanning again I have never had this problem in over a year. I'm having this happen in both my 996T and 396T does this have something to do with the Changes to there system

Regards
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2010, 9:00 PM
awasser1's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 346
Default

Probably not. It usually has to do with atmospheric conditions you can try turning digital endtone off. there's two setting trying to remember them with scanner in front of me. I think its digital endtone. turn it off on the control channel frequency. it happens every year luckily I havent gotten it yet. but I am sure I will. always do


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billygoat View Post
I'm monitoring Troops F,G and I and as of this week ,after there transmission, I'm getting a open carrier signal
I have to resume scanning manually to allow scanning again I have never had this problem in over a year. I'm having this happen in both my 996T and 396T does this have something to do with the Changes to there system

Regards
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 09-19-2010, 2:52 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I'll try that but, it is only happening on the CSP channels not wallingford p25 or branford,etc. or any other bandwidth. Or maybe I should just reprogram the whole system from ARC996 from the RR datbase

Bill
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 09-19-2010, 9:33 PM
awasser1's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bloomfield, CT
Posts: 346
Default

right I know its only happening on CSP. that's what u asked about. This happens every year on CSP if you look back through the archives. Reprogramming your whole system probably will not do a thing. If you are using a portable scanner/antenna. try moving it in the room that may knock the carrier off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billygoat View Post
I'll try that but, it is only happening on the CSP channels not wallingford p25 or branford,etc. or any other bandwidth. Or maybe I should just reprogram the whole system from ARC996 from the RR datbase

Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions