RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Site Administration Forums > Database Discussion Forum

Database Discussion Forum This forum is for questions about the database such as how to use it, layout or usability issues or suggestions for improvement. It is not for pointing out wrong information or getting help with programming.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 10:16 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Talking How long does it take for frequeny info to be posted

I just submited scanner info and i was wondering how long it takes to be posted. Any info would be very helful thankyou. Also im taking my ham radio test on this saturday where can i enter my callsign like everybody else.

Thanks, sincerely KD8***
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 10:41 PM
WayneH's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sitting in an airport somewhere
Posts: 8,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackmchugh View Post
I just submited scanner info and i was wondering how long it takes to be posted. Any info would be very helful thankyou. Also im taking my ham radio test on this saturday where can i enter my callsign like everybody else.
I don't understand your first question as you posted in the Forums Admin forum. Are you referring to scanner info for the database? There is a separate forum for database questions.

Regarding adding your callsign...you can always search for help, which is what I did. See this post:
Adding Amateur Radio Icon to Profile
__________________
-Wayne
PM's are permitted by contact list only. Please use direct email: wayne_h at radioreference dot com
Got an admin question? -> Forum Rules & Guidelines
Please follow the forum rules and contact a moderator directly, not via a thread.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2012, 11:13 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Sorry, i ment to say how long does it take for submited info to be posted in the reference database.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 12:20 AM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackmchugh View Post
Sorry, i ment to say how long does it take for submited info to be posted in the reference database.
Hi Jack,

It could take a week, It could happen moments after you submit it. It all depends on what else an admin has on his/her schedule. Just be patient. Your submission(s) will get worked.

Take care,

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 10:35 AM
gr8rcall's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 756
Default

I've even had it take a MONTH for a submission to be processed!

Note to Admins: Im not lying, exaggerating, ect.....
For proof, the submission number was: 130611
__________________
Supporter of Broadcastify!
Play "Travel Scrabble" here: Travel Scrabble (Word Game)
Pick your favorite soda!
Don't be fooled, I'm not a LEO!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 10:48 AM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8rcall View Post
I've even had it take a MONTH for a submission to be processed!

Note to Admins: Im not lying, exaggerating, ect.....
For proof, the submission number was: 130611
No need for proof. I'm sure that on occasion it has taken that long for a submission to be worked. There are a lot of factors that play into that.

1. admin MIA

* admins have lives that take precedence over this website (imagine that)
* admin sick
* admin on vacation

2. submission requires dialog, submitter isn't dialoging

* submitter hasn't whitelisted RR mail and it's going in their spam folder
* submitter is offended because admin asks for clarification and does not respond
* submitter simply doesn't check site/email often to know if further dialog is needed

3. submission is sitting waiting for the "right" admin to pick it up.

In some cases specific admins handle specific areas because they are most familiar with them. If the admins who handle those areas do not pick it up after a while, another admin will usually pick it up

4. admin has picked it up but has not worked it because they are attempting to figure out the best way to represent the data in the db

There are all kinds of possibilities, but more often than not it has nothing to do with the admin but rather the admin has picked it the ticket and requires further dialog with the submitter, which the admin is waiting on.

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 11:14 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtindor View Post
2. submission requires dialog, submitter isn't dialoging

* submitter hasn't whitelisted RR mail and it's going in their spam folder
* submitter is offended because admin asks for clarification and does not respond
* submitter simply doesn't check site/email often to know if further dialog is needed

There are all kinds of possibilities, but more often than not it has nothing to do with the admin but rather the admin has picked it the ticket and requires further dialog with the submitter, which the admin is waiting on.
This is by far the #1 reason I've had to hang on to submissions for more than a day or two. Great post.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 4:43 PM
gr8rcall's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtindor View Post
No need for proof. I'm sure that on occasion it has taken that long for a submission to be worked. There are a lot of factors that play into that.

1. admin MIA

* admins have lives that take precedence over this website (imagine that)
* admin sick
* admin on vacation

2. submission requires dialog, submitter isn't dialoging

* submitter hasn't whitelisted RR mail and it's going in their spam folder
* submitter is offended because admin asks for clarification and does not respond
* submitter simply doesn't check site/email often to know if further dialog is needed

3. submission is sitting waiting for the "right" admin to pick it up.

In some cases specific admins handle specific areas because they are most familiar with them. If the admins who handle those areas do not pick it up after a while, another admin will usually pick it up

4. admin has picked it up but has not worked it because they are attempting to figure out the best way to represent the data in the db

There are all kinds of possibilities, but more often than not it has nothing to do with the admin but rather the admin has picked it the ticket and requires further dialog with the submitter, which the admin is waiting on.

Mike
Yes, I've got you!
Please note: I wasn't trying to offend anyone!
Just telling that guy some stuff, ect.....!
__________________
Supporter of Broadcastify!
Play "Travel Scrabble" here: Travel Scrabble (Word Game)
Pick your favorite soda!
Don't be fooled, I'm not a LEO!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 5:03 PM
RonnieUSA's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rowan County,KY (Morehead)
Posts: 1,474
Smile

It took me a month ( well maybe not a month) after I found a system that even wasn't supposed to be near me, but I got it changed after time with the right info submitted.

And I'm still working on it.

Darn those trunked systems.
__________________
Radio Shack Pro-197 Tapped - Win500 - ID Tracker III
NooElect R820T SDR & DVB-T x2 - SDRSharp
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 7:59 PM
mtindor's Avatar
OH/WV DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jefferson County, Ohio
Posts: 4,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8rcall View Post
Yes, I've got you!
Please note: I wasn't trying to offend anyone!
Just telling that guy some stuff, ect.....!
I believe you. I didn't mean to sound like I was offended either. I only posted here because I'm an admin in the state the OP has/had an open submission. Just wanted him to know there are reasons why tickets aren't always worked instantly [or even daily]. His submissions will be worked

Mike
__________________
Mike / AA8IA
PSR800/PRO197/BCD436HP/BCD536HP

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 8:39 PM
gr8rcall's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 756
Default

I understand.
You didn't sound at all like you were offended,
I just wanted to clarify that I wasn't being disrespectful,
Or anything!
__________________
Supporter of Broadcastify!
Play "Travel Scrabble" here: Travel Scrabble (Word Game)
Pick your favorite soda!
Don't be fooled, I'm not a LEO!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2012, 8:32 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NH Cty, CT
Posts: 194
Default

Having read and understanding all of the above the question I have is... a new freq is listed in the CT database but I can't seem to find or select it (Naug) w/Win500 ver 2.06, am I doing something wrong?
__________________
Learning to program my new Pro-197 (so much to learn, so little time) - not using a Pro-34 now. Tucked away are a Pro-32 plus 16 & 50ch's remember those? Any mods or tips for the Pro-106/197?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2012, 7:45 AM
gr8rcall's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alamance County, NC
Posts: 756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8rcall View Post
I've even had it take a MONTH for a submission to be processed!

Note to Admins: Im not lying, exaggerating, ect.....
For proof, the submission number was: 130611
For the record, I just had one take about 4 hours!

Also, gumby, I'd start a thread about that in either this forum, or the Scanner Programming Software forum! You'll probably get more attention in the latter!
__________________
Supporter of Broadcastify!
Play "Travel Scrabble" here: Travel Scrabble (Word Game)
Pick your favorite soda!
Don't be fooled, I'm not a LEO!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2012, 9:32 PM
jfhtm350's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Market TN
Posts: 826
Default

Ive had it take 6 months. I wouldnt hold my breath.
__________________
Pro-106 / Pro-197 / Uniden BC92XLT / Uniden BC355N
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
entering info., time slot

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions