RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Site Administration Forums > Database Discussion Forum

Database Discussion Forum This forum is for questions about the database such as how to use it, layout or usability issues or suggestions for improvement. It is not for pointing out wrong information or getting help with programming.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2014, 5:19 PM
Jay911's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bragg Creek, Alberta
Posts: 6,670
Default Capabilities vs actual in-use operation

It was suggested that I bring this up to the DB administration level, so here it is.

I've been vocal about the practice of describing P25 systems with strictly the capability of (but not put into practice) operating as Phase II systems, as Phase II in the database, for some time now. It's like calling a channel encrypted even though it's not using encryption, but solely because the radios using the channel are capable of operating in encrypted mode.

Every Motorola (WACN BEE0x) P25 system that I have encountered across the continent as of late (post-P2 rollout) has had bandplan tables that make it capable of Phase 2 operation. One such example (the one I most recently discussed this about) is the Washington State Patrol Trunking System, Various, Washington - Scanner Frequencies system. It has a bandplan setting as follows:



...but only uses bandplan 01 (700 MHz, single slot (aka FDMA/Phase I), as indicated below (sites with RFSS 002; this system is using the same core as DoJ IWN):



I have been advised by a senior DB admin that recent changes to software packages have meant that this system, which was being "skipped" because of its P2 status in the DB, is no longer omitted. I see in the HP1 Sentinel software that that's true (though not for this system because it doesn't have talkgroups; but other P2 systems are now being included).

So my original point (the systems are being omitted from various downloads because they are incorrectly branded as P2 systems in the RRDB) may be moot. However, there's still the question of the disclaimer put on the DB page for P2 systems, and the description of said systems in downloads. They're not really P2 systems, so in my mind, they shouldn't be identified as such. The end user certainly could get confused by the declaration that it's a P2 system, when he/she can't locate any P2 transmissions.

Here's my question for the primary DB administrator.

If it's not right to identify a channel as encrypted when it's capable of but not using encryption (not including mixed-mode operations);
and it's not right to identify a channel as digital when it's capable of but not using digital modulation (I know of many repeaters in my local area that are NXDN DMR being used in analog mode);
why is it right to identify a P25 system as P2 when it is broadcasting everything except one unused bandplan identifier in P1 mode?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2014, 6:47 PM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Global DB Admin/Senior Mod
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 6,478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay911 View Post
I have been advised by a senior DB admin that recent changes to software packages have meant that this system, which was being "skipped" because of its P2 status in the DB, is no longer omitted.
Not quite. I was specifically referring to HomePatrol Sentinel. I have no knowledge of how other software packages handle P2 systems.

HomePatrol Sentinel has always included P2 systems. However, it wouldn't download any talkgroups specifically marked as TDMA. Because these talkgroups can be dynamic, it didn't make sense to exclude them. UPMan made some changes to the download process and talkgroups marked as TDMA are now downloadable.
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2014, 12:32 AM
Jay911's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bragg Creek, Alberta
Posts: 6,670
Default

After we exchanged emails in the WA forum, it occurred to me that the only other one I had issues with in the past was the PSR-800 EZ-Scan Digital software, and obviously it does download those types of systems now.

The point remains, I feel RR shouldn't be identifying systems that are not using P2 features as being P2 systems.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2014, 5:09 PM
jamesa53's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: IN
Posts: 585
Default

I have this exact same issue with the failure of my Pro-18 to import the IL Starcom 21 P25 system. Let's not exclude P25 systems that are 99% Phase I. Just block the Phase II talk groups.
__________________
PSR-800 (EZScan)--PRO106 (Win500)--PRO197 (Win500)--PRO96 (Win96)--PRO2096 (Win96)--PRO92 (Plain model) (Win92)--PRO90 (Keypad)--BC210XLT (Keypad)--BC100XLT (Keypad)-PRO-4 (Xtals)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2014, 8:19 PM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Global DB Admin/Senior Mod
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 6,478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesa53 View Post
I have this exact same issue with the failure of my Pro-18 to import the IL Starcom 21 P25 system. Let's not exclude P25 systems that are 99% Phase I. Just block the Phase II talk groups.

Keep in mind that Phase II talkgroups can be dynamically assigned.

That's the problem I was running into.

The talkgroups labelled as TDMA were not being downloaded to my HomePatrol despite the fact that sometimes, they would operate in FDMA mode.

If you exclude all TDMA talkgroups as you suggest, you're not going to hear these talkgroups.
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2014, 11:50 AM
jamesa53's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: IN
Posts: 585
Default

Agreed. The issue is I cannot import any part of the system. Why not allow it to be imported and if the talk groups go TDMA, you just won't hear them on non-Phase II capable scanners, in my area in downstate IL, a non Phase II scanner works fine.
__________________
PSR-800 (EZScan)--PRO106 (Win500)--PRO197 (Win500)--PRO96 (Win96)--PRO2096 (Win96)--PRO92 (Plain model) (Win92)--PRO90 (Keypad)--BC210XLT (Keypad)--BC100XLT (Keypad)-PRO-4 (Xtals)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions