NXDN now in my county What do I do? I

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dona4ky

I am new to scanners and I wonder if there are any ways to listen to this new format? Is anyone able to do any coding for a old Pro-106?

nd5y

In order to receive unencrypted NXDN you would need to add a discriminator tap to your Pro-106 and use DSDPlus or buy a RTL-SDR or similar and use DSDPlus. You could also buy Whistler TRX1 or TRX2 scanner and wait for them to release the NXDN firmware upgrade that is supposed to be out later this year.

Dona4ky

In order to receive unencrypted NXDN you would need to add a discriminator tap to your Pro-106 and use DSDPlus or buy a RTL-SDR or similar and use DSDPlus. You could also buy Whistler TRX1 or TRX2 scanner and wait for them to release the NXDN firmware upgrade that is supposed to be out later this year.
I don't know how to do that. I paid someone to program my scanner in the beginning. He did not offer that for me.

SCPD

QRT
I don't know how to do that. Is there someone who can fix my radio?

Your radio isnt broken, its just unable to decode that. If you arent computer savvy you are out of luck until a scanner is released that decodes NXDN

Dona4ky

I understand that. Thanks for your time. I paid a man to program my scanner last month, then was informed why I could not pick up info. He said he had heard something about my county going to NXDN. I was not offered that fix. If you know of someone that can do that for me, I appreciate it.

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
You have one more option but you might not like it? ... Move where NXDN is not used. 73, n9zas

RayAir

Options:
1) use an RTL-SDR stick or scanner with a disc tap in conjunction with DSD+.

If it's not encrypted you might even be able to use an NXDN capable radio.

I'm using DSD and an ICOM IC-4161 to listen to conventional channels as well as three NXDN 4800 (6.25KHz) trunked systems.