RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Site Administration Forums > Database Discussion Forum


Database Discussion Forum - This forum is for questions about the database such as how to use it, layout or usability issues or suggestions for improvement. It is not for pointing out wrong information or getting help with programming.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2018, 7:23 PM
Newbie
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nevada County, CA
Posts: 4
Default Tower Site Maps – Gone!

I think this forum is the closest forum for what I am experiencing since there is a post entitled “Map of Tower Site Locations.”

I cannot seem to find other RadioReference users I know who have the same problem.
When I do a frequency search, I am presented with a page of search results. Many of the entries show call sign links. When I click on a call sign, it brings up the appropriate page. All normal so far, almost.

Several weeks ago, the tower site maps stopped showing. The area where the maps have always been is simply blank. It shows the view options with "basic" selected: [X] basic [ ] streets [ ] bright [ ] light [ ] dark [ ] satellite. Clicking a different option only places the black dot in a different place. The frequency lists below where the map should be – show as normal. I really would like to have the maps appear again. The info there is useful to me for my scanner hobby including the proximity search.

I use Windows 7 and Internet Explorer 11. I stay up to date on Microsoft updates. I run the paid versions of AVG antivirus and Malwarebytes. Interactive maps from a variety of other Internet sites seem to work fine, including Google Maps.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Iden – K6JHQ
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2018, 7:26 PM
riccom's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 1,033
Default

Well alot are in wiki, under the site you are looking at most times

Sent from my 5049Z using Tapatalk
__________________
Rd-5r pro-2062 bf-8hp beojie 218 bc335c qyt 8900D and a partridge in a pear tree!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2018, 7:30 PM
Newbie
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nevada County, CA
Posts: 4
Default

I am a long-time RR subscriber and the maps I am referring to aren't where they have always have been. There was no searching required.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-06-2018, 8:24 PM
kma371's Avatar
Global DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 5,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K6JHQ View Post
I think this forum is the closest forum for what I am experiencing since there is a post entitled “Map of Tower Site Locations.”

I cannot seem to find other RadioReference users I know who have the same problem.
When I do a frequency search, I am presented with a page of search results. Many of the entries show call sign links. When I click on a call sign, it brings up the appropriate page. All normal so far, almost.

Several weeks ago, the tower site maps stopped showing. The area where the maps have always been is simply blank. It shows the view options with "basic" selected: [X] basic [ ] streets [ ] bright [ ] light [ ] dark [ ] satellite. Clicking a different option only places the black dot in a different place. The frequency lists below where the map should be – show as normal. I really would like to have the maps appear again. The info there is useful to me for my scanner hobby including the proximity search.

I use Windows 7 and Internet Explorer 11. I stay up to date on Microsoft updates. I run the paid versions of AVG antivirus and Malwarebytes. Interactive maps from a variety of other Internet sites seem to work fine, including Google Maps.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Iden – K6JHQ
Hmm, not sure why it's not working on your end, working fine on my PC.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-07-2018, 9:30 AM
dave3825's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 2,095
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K6JHQ View Post

Several weeks ago, the tower site maps stopped showing. The area where the maps have always been is simply blank.

I use Windows 7 and Internet Explorer 11. I stay up to date on Microsoft updates.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Iden – K6JHQ
I have issues with chrome not displaying stuff properly. Not just here, but also aol mail and google maps. I narrowed it down to memory. If I had a bunch of tabs open in chrome, no go. Things would not be visible on the screen. Close chrome and come here in the first and only tab, works good. Seems each tab opens a new process in the task manager, consuming memory.

Prior to tabs having their own processes, I never had any issues.

I don't use ie but it does the same. Open 3 tabs and there will be 3 iexplore.exe's running in the task manager. I don't follow when things with change with ie but it acts the same as chrome.

How much mem do you have and how much is being used when you load the tower sites?

I never do any updates unless something is not working. Windows updates keep knocking my ubuntu out of whack. (dual boot).

One thing to check, and not sure if it make a difference or not, but you are a premium subscriber. Are you still logged into the database and not just the forums?
__________________
DMR436HP Br330T Pro 93 Pro 95
Arc330Pro ProScan Freescan BCDX36HP Easy Manual Id Tracker
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-07-2018, 2:05 PM
Newbie
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nevada County, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Yes, and others I have asked seem to have no problem. I think it must be my computer that is preventing the maps from appearing. So I need to dig into the programming behind the maps. I think JavaScript is involved. Other things on my computer needing JavaScript seem to work. Here https://www.enable-javascript.com/ it says my JavaScript is enabled in my browser. It may use Mapbox GL JS and when I go here https://www.mapbox.com/mapbox-gl-js/...k-for-support/ the map they provide works. It may need WebGL but don’t know how to check that. I have the current version of FlashPlayer but that may not be involved.

I expect some here know about all this stuff and certainly the RadioReference staff would know. It just depends on whether anyone wants to help with a problem that I alone seem to be having. I remain hopeful. I sure would like the maps back.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-07-2018, 2:25 PM
Newbie
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nevada County, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Dave3825, With Win7 and IE 11, I often run with many windows open, often 30, and usually have no problems. This is not new and the RR maps have always appeared. Just now, I double checked with only one browser window open and no map, as expected. My system has 8GB of RAM. Right now with one browser window open and about eight other things, I am using 2.5GB of memory. I just opened a RR page that should have a map and it increased to 2.54GB. And yes, I am logged in to RR database and no maps. Thank you for your comments and ideas.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions