toronto police

Status
Not open for further replies.

mr_scan

hi im new to this and wondering if the toronto police use a digital or analog system, if its digital is it of the ACPO 25 variety or other (please specify). and if its analog, how long will it remain so before converting to digital.

Thanks

phyberoptics

Premium Subscriber
hi im new to this and wondering if the toronto police use a digital or analog system, if its digital is it of the ACPO 25 variety or other (please specify). and if its analog, how long will it remain so before converting to digital.

Thanks

Currently, the majority of TPS is analog, however, you will find some APCO 25 talkgroups, and you will also find some encrypted talkgroups. I can't answer to how long it will stay this way.

pathalogical

You may want to consider digital. That's what the OPP is on. Rumor is, Toronto may go digital around 2012 with possible encryption. Since your new here I'll answer your next question -- encryption CANNOT be scanned with any scanner. So if ya got a couple of extra bucks to spend, shop for digital. Hope this helps...

torontokris

Premium Subscriber
FYI Toronto Police are currently testing the 9600 P25 at different times/days.
The tones heard are coming in strong. So doesnt seem to be any problem with the range.

Again as the other member mentioned not sure if it will be open digital or encrypted.

Currently all you need for Toronto is a basic ANALOG TRUNKING scanner (so if your tight for cash you can go that route for now)
But if you want to monitor OPP get a digital.

yorkphotog

Premium Subscriber
If you can afford it, much better to get a digital...that way you're prepared, and you can listen to the OPP.

I've got a BCT996T.. it is a very good scanner, and I listen to the OPP & GO Transit (which are both digital) and the 996 does a great job with the digital decoding.

IdleMonitor

Premium Subscriber