OPP broadcasting on PRP Last Night.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sm3000

Hey Guys,

I'm still relatively new to this whole scanning thing, only been in on it for about two years, so if my question sounds oddball, please don't laugh too hard. LOL.

I was listening to PRP 12 Div last night, and heard the OPP had been patched in as they were chasing a couple of people in PRP's turf. I heard to dispatchers (OPP Orillia and PRP 12 Div Dispatch) co-ordinating some sort of a response for something that had happened, OPP sup's and OPP cars broadcasting back and forth conversing with PRP cars and sup's. The dispatchers were even talking to each other.

Is this normal for them to do? I didn't think that police forces had access to each other's systems, as they're on different systems altogether (opp is on fleetnet, right? prp isn't (i don't think)).

hypersight

Hey Guys,

I'm still relatively new to this whole scanning thing, only been in on it for about two years, so if my question sounds oddball, please don't laugh too hard. LOL.

I was listening to PRP 12 Div last night, and heard the OPP had been patched in as they were chasing a couple of people in PRP's turf. I heard to dispatchers (OPP Orillia and PRP 12 Div Dispatch) co-ordinating some sort of a response for something that had happened, OPP sup's and OPP cars broadcasting back and forth conversing with PRP cars and sup's. The dispatchers were even talking to each other.

Is this normal for them to do? I didn't think that police forces had access to each other's systems, as they're on different systems altogether (opp is on fleetnet, right? prp isn't (i don't think)).

I was listening to this last night as well. The OPP can patch to other agencies providing those agencies have a fleetnet radio. BTW the Fleetnet talk group that was used for last night's patch with Peel was 9632 for those who didn't catch it.

ocscan

Premium Subscriber