Understanding Fleetnet and the Conv channels left?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Inssomniak

Im trying to understand how the trunked bell fleetnet for OPP works, as well as the conventional channels listed on this site. (Canada-Ontario) (NOR)

I have programmed in the conventional frequencies, some VHF and some 400 mhz channels to see what was on them, and to my surprise I find a lot of traffic both digital and analog. I don't know if the frequencies overlap frequencies in the trunked fleetnet, so Im just picking up ones close to me, but it also seems that 2 OPP officers are talking to each other but alternating from 400 mhz analog, to VHF digital.?

Im still new to this. And after a solid week, Im still unsure how this all works. The NOR frequencies are the same as bell fleetnet trunked frequencies for my area, is the NOR system not used at all around my area? What about these 400 mhz frequencies?

What is a media access channel?

Sorry for n00b questions :(

IdleMonitor

Premium Subscriber
Fleetnet activity from the digital system (OPP) you will hear on the VR (Vehicle Repeater) Channels. They're always analog and is usually the same as the home talkgroup as to what's on fleetnet. You may hear the OPS tg, but not necessarily a TAC tg, unless they're on the TAC and the VR is turned on and they're close enough to you.

Fleetnet does use the same frequencies as the old NOR system, which area are you in? because with the NOR frequencies, you may be losing the old system soon to the new system, in which case, you'll have to get a trunking scanner.

Media access ch. is only used in and around the Toronto area I believe.

I'm sure someone else can chime in here and give a bit better explanation of things.

Inssomniak said:
Im trying to understand how the trunked bell fleetnet for OPP works, as well as the conventional channels listed on this site. (Canada-Ontario) (NOR)