Help With Freqs. In The Rainy River Area

Status
Not open for further replies.

FighterPilot

Hello,
I live in the Rainy River District, and am wondering if I can get some help with listening into OPP. I'm fairly new to scanning though. I go to set my scanner to 142.7700 and it changes it to 142.7750. When I listen to that freq. I never get anything. Can someone help me with getting it to work or figure out if they are on the fleetnet thing.

Thanks in advance
Cal

mciupa

Canadian DB Admin
Hi Cal , welcome to RadioReference :)

I don't think that 142.770 is used all that much , only when the OPP and another agency need to communicate during an active incident.
For the OPP in your district , I would try the NOR areas freq's.

http://www.radioreference.com/modules.php?name=RR&aid=577

which scanner are you using ?

mciupa

Canadian DB Admin
Yes , I would suggest 140.970 and 411.3125 for OPP.

Put your radio in SEARCH between 140 to 144 and see if you notice which tower freq's are active.

FighterPilot

Hmmm I seams 140.970 nor 411.3125 are getting any hits. All I'm picking up is 137.1375, which sounds to be CBC. The only other freq that seams to get any hits is the freq. 123.275 which is the YWG Radio. Any other ideas?

Cal

FighterPilot

Just so I got this right, I go to the page with the freqs. : http://www.radioreference.com/modules.php?name=RR&aid=577 . Then dial it in and then add the CTCSS freq. as well? I'm wondering if I'm looking at the right freqs. My Town (Atikokan) might be on some different system or something? I talked to a friend who is doing a co-op course with the cops and all he knew about what they use is "A freq. that changes and jumps around or something like that." Maybe that could help. I'll keep trying and see what I can get, I just have to remind myself that I may be doing something wrong.

Thanks for the help (so far)
Cal

FighterPilot