Anyone have any luck finding active CB frequencies??

Status
Not open for further replies.

fpapai

I'm a newbie to this whole thing. I just bought a BC246T and using the self search feature which scans from channel 1 - 41 hasen't he come up with anything.

I'm in the ottawa area.

Should I searching in a shorter range?
Suggestions?

KE7JFF

Don't all the Quebec truck drivers still use CB? I know with the NYS Thruway, you heard them talking on CB still.

IdleMonitor

Premium Subscriber
First off, what type of antenna are you using? Base Antenna? You should hear something, if anything atleast Ch. 19. Which end of the city are you in? Are you close to the Queensway at all? If you're just using the portable antenna then your sensitivity won't be as great as having a base antenna, particularly one that's tuned to that band.

Also, it only scans Ch. 1-40 not 41, you want to scan all the other frequencies, then you have to make a custom search then.

I live up the Valley a little bit, and the locals are on the radio here all the time.

fpapai said:
I'm a newbie to this whole thing. I just bought a BC246T and using the self search feature which scans from channel 1 - 41 hasen't he come up with anything.

I'm in the ottawa area.

Should I searching in a shorter range?
Suggestions?

mrweather

If you're only using the supplied duck antenna that could be why you're not hearing anything.

CB uses much lower frequencies than VHF and UHF, and would require a bigger antenna for reliable reception.

IdleMonitor

Premium Subscriber
Hahaha,

Thats funny, however I'm sure it would work.

Mind you, if you use the BC246t as a base unit like I do, and use a base antenna then that would definitly still improve reception.

In town here, I only use a ducky on my window with a GRE Preamp, and well, I can pull in my local base stations ok, but it can be iffy though on the mobiles around town.