Okaloosa County Changes

Status
Not open for further replies.

ki4wbn

EMS tone outs now occur on the VHF side, and have completely left left the UHF side. It also sounds like, as of Wednesday, fire north has switched over to narrow band on their 154.725 frequency.

In the meantime, I heard Crestview FD attempting to make contact on the 800 radios to their dispatch, assumed to be the SLERS. They were (and still continue to as regular) communicating with dispatch using their regular VHF frequency, and dispatch was able to hear them when they were testing the radios on the 800, but they were not able to hear dispatch.

I have a feeling full switchover to SLERS will not be far away.

mp3sgt

Premium Subscriber
Changes

I am an officer with one of the north end volunteer Fire dept's and do all the radio programming and liason with Harris and so forth. We have not gone narrowband on any VHF or UHF frequency. The deviation level change is due only to new MA/COM Maestro consoles. Dispatch on Fire/EMS switched to the consoles full time on 12-10-2009. The new consoles, however, are MUCH lower in deviation than the old Orbacom consoles. You may notice some heavy testing to be done during this week as there are pager issues to be worked out due to the change. But no narrowband!

ki4wbn

Oh okay, thanks! I know for the past month they have done quite a bit of tone testing of both the EMS and fire pager tones. I also know they are still test toning some things, especially for EMS.

mp3sgt

Premium Subscriber
more

Also, SLERS will be implemented in some form or another in January or so on the fire side of Okaloosa. We will be using digital dispatch talkgroups but no encryption on the fire or EMS side. Also, we have some analog tac channels.

mp3sgt

Premium Subscriber
Politics