RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Florida Radio Discussion Forum


Florida Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Florida.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2017, 7:43 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default Pinellas County P25 not working

I just bought a new Uniden BCD325P2 scanner a few days ago, and all of Hillsborough and Pasco county work fine on the EDACS system. I have everything programmed with a Radio Reference premium account through Freescan, but when I try to listen, i hear nothing. If i hold the 800mhz control frequency on the scanner, i hear dead air. Nothing comes through.

Any ideas on whether its a setting that is not programmed correctly? Currently on freescan i have only the control channels programmed into the system and i went and added the alternate frequencies manually in the scanner and still hear nothing ever.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2017, 9:44 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 95
Default

Are you only scanning a certain site? Site 5 is countywide and has the most activity.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2017, 11:04 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

I am scanning all of the sites. Would it be better to erase all of the ones except for 5?

And I only need to add the control channels on the bcd325,correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2017, 3:40 PM
firerick100's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: wolcott ct
Posts: 750
Default

Did you try the zip code function to pick up the local trunked departments, if you try that then maybe you can see if it picks it up and narrow it down to what the problem is.
__________________
785 D -396T-15 x-( 3) 996 xt's, 396 xt - Ht 1250 (VHF)
Ht 1550 xls (UHF),HT 1550 xls (vhf),MTS 2000 type 3
Rickbryce@twitter
www.rescue9photography.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2017, 5:24 PM
trido's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern In
Posts: 735
Default

see if freescan is importing SYSTEM type is p25 std?
everytime i do a system in indiana it does it as moto type II.I change to P25 std works fine.
this is the system setting not site.
i might be wrong but think it should be p25 std.

sites should also be p25 std
__________________
Jeff
Ham Station
http://tinyurl.com/hamstation-scanner/
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2017, 5:37 PM
KevinC's Avatar
Moderator---not censor
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Unincorporated Ft. Bend County
Posts: 2,998
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firerick100 View Post
Did you try the zip code function to pick up the local trunked departments, if you try that then maybe you can see if it picks it up and narrow it down to what the problem is.
Zip code function on a 325???
__________________
Someone told me signatures are silly, so I got rid of mine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2017, 7:51 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Ok so I reprogrammed Pinellas, and this time when I pulled the info from Radio Reference it added the system as a Motorola Type 2/P25, and the Site Type defaulted to Mot P25/P25 STD.

Under the site tab in freescan, when I look at "Trunk Frequencies", it lists all of the frequencies and not just the control channel. Will this matter, and do I need to change it to only show control channels?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2017, 2:17 PM
Homeboys-Scanna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,385
Default

I have the same problem with a BCD996P2 from here in Hillsborough County. On Site 5, the scanner looks like it locks on to the control channel, but it never stops on any talk groups. You basically just hear nothing. I'm 99% sure the reason for this is because of our consumer-grade scanners do not properly handle / decode P25 simulcast.
__________________
"Copy, 132 and Bush, cover's code 3."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2017, 3:06 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 401
Default

Hello, I am in Sarasota with G5 and received Site 5 and all Fire calls last night and almost every night I try.
Ed
__________________
Sarasota County Fire Department Photographer
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2017, 7:29 PM
Homeboys-Scanna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,385
Default

All the way in Sarasota?
__________________
"Copy, 132 and Bush, cover's code 3."
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2017, 9:21 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 401
Default

All the way in Sarasota!!!! I live on the second floor of my condo on Siesta Key pointing east and little north. I only get them if it is cloudy and after sundown. I get from one to three bars on the G5. That radio is great on simo and I am using the RS 800 antenna when trying to receive signals over 30 miles away.
Ed
__________________
Sarasota County Fire Department Photographer
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2017, 4:01 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Part of my problem is that I'm not within range with the regular antenna that came with the scanner. I listened on my way to work in the morning and I was able to hear that loud obnoxious noise when I would hold the channel on one of the 800mhz frequencies. Unfortunately nothing would come through if I switched to any channel in the different sites. A message kept popping up about finding a control channel.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2017, 3:57 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tampa. FL
Posts: 32
Default

Please do be careful with using your scanner while driving though, as it is against Florida law to operate one in a motor vehicle, unless you possess an amateur radio license.

I know you may already know that, but this is just a reminder in general to anybody who actually does this.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2017, 5:27 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Yep. Had no idea. Thank you for that.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2017, 4:15 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

So I ended up getting much closer to pinellas in my journies the past couple of days, and I was able to pick up some of the talk groups, mainly Pinellas Sheriff Alpha 4. It was crystal clear, and everything worked well, however, when I would manually switch to other talk groups, i would not get any voice, but an 800mhz frequency would show up on the screen with "DAT" next to it. I will try and attach a picture. When I would hear voice on the PCSO channel, the "DAT" would change to "P25". Any ideas?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2017, 5:02 PM
Homeboys-Scanna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,385
Default

Rotate your photo.
__________________
"Copy, 132 and Bush, cover's code 3."
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2017, 8:33 PM
KI4VBR's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 207
Default Control Channel Changes..

I was trying to listen to the north county system this evening and my 396xlt indicates finding control channell. The radio is silent.....I can hear the trunk tones when I break the squelch....getting a strong signal with my discone. I. Think it is the Ridgecrest system I have been using. Anyone know of any changes?

TY
__________________
Listening with: Flex3000, FunCube, Yaseu 857D, Icom 2200H, RX7 Govt/Export, Yaesu FT-60, Uniden 396XT, 895XLT, HP1, RS Pro-95, 97, Stridsberg Active Coupler, Discone, HFVertical & VHF/UHF Grnd-plane.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2017, 9:17 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Lets try this again. Dont know why it rotated the first time.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions