Knoxville, TN - No Traffic Citations for Vets

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeerNutz

Premium Subscriber
Today, 6/30/12, I am hearing over my scanner from the city and county, something like this. "No citation issued in honor of our troops." I'm guessing, no veteran, within reason, gets a traffic citation through the 4th of July.

Many years ago, on Memorial Day, I was pulled over by a Knox County, TN deputy. Like most Marines, I plaster decals on my vehicles. We don't put them on there hoping to get out of a ticket, it's a way for us to identify each other cuz no matter who we are or where we live, we are all brothers. Deputy asked for my DL only and asked me if I am a veteran. When I replied yes, he said "Knox County sheriff's dept. would like to thank you for your service to our country, have a nice day" and hands me back my license without running it or my plates through county records. I will never forget that day.

Y'all ever here of anything like that where you live?

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Nope, but as a veteran myself I hope I don't.
We don't deserve any special merit just because we served.

n9zas

BeerNutz

Premium Subscriber
Nope, but as a veteran myself I hope I don't.
We don't deserve any special merit just because we served.

n9zas

I come from an era when we were swore at and spit on, I think it's cool if they are giving vets a break on minor traffic violations.. I was coming home through LA International once when I was spit on. The hippie's head hit the deck before his feet did. LOL

To all vets... I salute you. Welcome home and thank you for your service.

Confuzzled

Sorry, I don't believe in special treatment or professional courtesy. An officer's discretion should be limited to the infraction at hand and not the offender's current or past employment.

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned