New Scanner Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

nibnoses

Ok, I know that eavesdropping on your local police and fire are not easy now days (or cheap) due to all the new technology used in this day and age but I'm willing to give it a try. Being a former volunteer firefighter, I miss some of the action. Here is the problem, I'm not sure which type of scanner I need to buy with all the technology these days. I'm just wanting to listen in on the action without spending an arm and a leg for a base scanner (fire, police, EMS) and I'm not sure if I want analog or digital. Any input would be greatly appreciated. If it means anything I reside in Barnesville Ohio, Thanks again in advance!

captclint

Mentor
I'm not sure which type of scanner I need to buy with all the technology these days. I'm just wanting to listen in on the action without spending an arm and a leg for a base scanner (fire, police, EMS) and I'm not sure if I want analog or digital. Any input would be greatly appreciated. If it means anything I reside in Barnesville Ohio, Thanks again in advance!
Welcome to RR and the high tech scanning world. Bad news. You need a digital Base scanner $400-$600 as most of Belmont is on this system: Ohio MARCS - Multi-Agency Trunking System
If you can swing, people can give you recommendations.

Last edited:

nibnoses

I can't say that I mind paying a good price for a great scanner, but I want to be sure I get the correct unit for my location. I'd hate to pay $400-600 for a unit that doesn't pick up in my area.
Recommendations please.

bailly2