RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners, Receivers and Related Equipment Forums > General Scanning Discussion

General Scanning Discussion - For general questions not specific to a model of scanner or general discussion of use of a scanner. Manufacturer specific posts should be directed to the appropriate forums below and location specific posts should go in the appropriate regional forum..

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2017, 11:07 AM

Default Car radios superior AM/MW reception

I am a rookie so bare with me. I am wondering why the most basic automotive receivers can pick up AM so much better than a Tecsun PL680 or Grundig Satellit 750 or Eton Field & if there are any parts I could take out of an car radio to transfer to one of these radios to help them? For example, My work van is a 07 Ford E250 & has a base model am/fm radio & it can pick up AM from 100+ miles away no problem where my Radios listed above struggle to get many of them or wont even register a few of them. Even in the city where there is a lot of noise they still come thru in the work van, I took my PL680 with me a few times to compare & went out of the city where there was less interference, the PL680 still struggled & the van signal was loud and clear, I tried the same with one of our other shop trucks, a 2003 Ford superduty & its AM reception was even better. Is there a larger or better quality ferrite rod antenna in these radios that my shortwave radios might benefit from? I have a Factory ford radio that I removed from my 04 F150 laying around that I could tear into if there is any benefit. The main reason I ask is because a lot of times I travel up north fishing etc where there is very little radio to listen to & can only receive am or sw. & I would like to have a stronger AM signal without setting up external antennas etc. I am especially disappointed with my Grundig Sat