Never felt like more of a noob!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleared30R

Hello!

I am Matt and I am new to the scanner world and well...SSIA!

I use my scanner really only for monitoring air traffic in the Twin Cites but I really want to learn more about how to use it for other things...

I have a Radio Shack Pro-94 and I know that I am limited as to what I can scan being that local fire/police are on a system that my scanner can not pick up but I am trying to figure out what I can receive with this thing and also trying to see if I should look into an upgrade in scanner.

In just monitoring while driving around, I mostly pick up junk that is either dead air, or just garbled nonsense...occasionally when I am in Minneapolis, I can pick-up what I think are cab and/or limo companies...but they are pretty boring.

Anyway...just wanted to say hello and see if anyone had any suggestions....I am working on trying to learn how to program sets of frequencies so that I stop picking up all this garbage all the time.

Thanks!

Matt

mciupa

Hi Matt , welcome to RadioReference. :)
Well , with what you have , you may want to give the City of Bloomington's EDACS system a try.
The Pro 96 would be excellent for receiving ARMERS and you would have so much to listen to state wide.

Otherwise, visit the database for the Minneapolis/St.Paul "quick link' and pour over the database entries, there is bound to be something worthwhile listed. :)

Raven95150

Premium Subscriber