Programming service from this website

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbalcomb

I am VERY new to programming my new Radio Shack Pro 97, and I hate to admit, but it is all way above my head. I found a link to a web site through a link here that offers to program your scanner with what you want. You can either mail them the scanner, or they will send you a computer file (if you have the cable and the software). Is this a legitimate company? I'm not into learing all the details of how to do it - I want the easy way out so I can just start listening!!!!
Thanks!

N4JNW

Save your money and do it yourself!

Don Starr has a program that makes it super easy to program your scanner! Go to RadioShack and pick up a cable for your scanner for about 20 bucks. Then, download his FREE trial of the software.

Use it to program your scanner, and then if you like it, buy a key from him, and enjoy it all the time.

The name of the software is Win97. I think the cost of the key to continue use of the software is about 20 bucks, and the cable is about 20 bucks, so why would you pay someone else to do it ONCE, when you can do it just as easy, and upgrade/change as many times as you want?

It's not hard, and please don't be intimidated by your Pro-97. Once you get the hang of it, it's a fairly simple scanner to use. Just takes some practice.

tbalcomb

Thanks, KG4JF - I've been trying to read about the Win97 software. I'm still a bit confused, but you say the program is fairly easy to use? I'm not computer illiterate, but I sure am scanner illiterate! I've had a Pro 23 for years, but it's just simple frequencies. I'm live in Katy, TX (Harris County) and I'm trying to figure out this STARNet thing and how to get those frequencies programmed in. Do you think the Win97 program will work for it? All I can figure out is it's analog and APCO-25 Common Air Interface (whatever the heck that means!)

BTW, if I'm posting on the wrong forum for these questions, someone please let me know!!!