Mr newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Terp

My name is Terp and I am a newbie. It took a couple of days to find this forum, I been looking and decided to join.
I am retired from the communications center with 30yrs. I live in Indiana, Clinton County. I have watched all the episodes of Walker Texas Ranger and decided to get a scanner. I have decided to get the Uniden BC396. I want to listen to everything, I'm about 50-60 miles from Indy 500, would like to hear the drivers etc.
When I get my scanner do I connect it to my laptop and start loading software to program it?
I'm looking forward to learn as much as possible from this site, from what I have read there is lot of sharp people here. Thanks Terp

N4JNW

Welcome to Radio Reference, Terp!

Choosing the Uniden 396, you have made an excellent choice! I'm still drooling over these scanners even today..

As far as you are from Indy, it's probably going to be pretty difficult to hear the drivers. Their in car radios are relatively low power, because how far do they really need to talk? A few thousand foot at most.. Not saying you CAN'T hear them, but doing so will provide moderate difficulty. If you want to hear the drivers from your home, you will more than likely need a directional antenna, for the frequencies they use, and point it at the race track area.

I dont know personally, but I assume Indianapolis is using a digital system, or atleast they are trunked. But there is good news, you have a scanner that will hear most anything! If they are indeed digital, no problem! If they're trunked, you're covered as well!