Frequency repeaters, what are they?

Status
Not open for further replies.

coachmenguy

ok forgive my ignorance im new to all this radio stuff, but what are repeaters and what do they do??? what do they look like??? if i had to guess i would say they allow a signal to travel twice as far, but thats a guess.

gatekeep

FAIL 01/93
Premium Subscriber
a repeater is a combination of a radio receiver and a radio transmitter that receives a weak or low-level signal and retransmits it at a higher level or higher power, so that the signal can cover longer distances without degradation ... generally ... trunked-repeaters are usually different, though I don't have much experiance with them I couldn't say, I've just used/helped setup/helped maintain conventional repeaters

z96cobra

A repeater allows someone to transmit on one frequency, and that audio is rebroadcast at a higher power (wattage) over a second frequency. Most handhelds transmit @ 5 watts (ham/police/fire/EMS etc.) and they can only be heard by other users if they are close to each other. With the repeater, the 5w signal is boosted to whatever power is deemed necessary for the area, and more people/stations can pick up that "little 5w signal". That is the extremely simple version!

Roger

ryangassxx

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
I've always thought that repeaters sort of took all the fun out of it. I mean isn't the thrill of it being able to achieve what you can achieve with your hardware on your table? To use a repeater, why not just make a phone call...

I understand it from a practical standpoint for police or whoever else, but I dont understand hobbiests using repeaters..

car2back

ryangassxx said:
...I understand it from a practical standpoint for police or whoever else, but I dont understand hobbiests using repeaters..