Wideband scanner vs a normal one?

Status
Not open for further replies.

trap5858

Premium Subscriber
There are significant trade offs. First, a wideband scanner does not have digital trunking abilities. A wideband scanner is usually a receiver that has the capability to scan, they are usually a big tricky to program and do not have the sensitivity that a receiver dedicated to a particular band will have. The more you ask it to do the less it will do well.

I use a wideband scanner the Icom R-20 for air/mil air and marine receiving. I use my pro-96 for public safety scanning.

I hope this helps.

n4voxgill

Silent Key
a communication receiver covers many bands that a scanner does not. It also covers modes, such as sideband, that scanners do not. I have no experience with an R20, but I have an AOR8200 MK III that blows every scanner away that I have used on VHF and UHF. It is very sensitive and selectivity is good so that you don't get much local interference. It will pick up frequencies from .5 MHz all the way up to 3000 MHz (3 GHz). It was not designed to be a scanner so it will not follow trunked systems.

So I have multiple units that I can take with me to listen to scanner type activities or where I need enhanced aircraft civilian and military. The AR8200 does a good job for a handheld on picking up HF communications on sideband such as military planes, coast guard and even ham radio transmissions.

scannerrail

So i'm reading around here and looking in the Space and Satellite area here.. some are listed under the 2m band would a 800Mhz scanner pick something up like that or would I need a wideband for that?

SAR923