New Guy needs Help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jetblack3791

I am very new to scanning, in fact I am so new that I do not own a scanner yet. My question is this. With so many scanners on the market, how do I know which one I should get? I live in Corpus Christi TX and would like a good first scanner that isnt going to cost me $600. I dont mind spending the money, I just want to make sure its something I am going to enjoy before I drop tons of cash. Any suggestions?

N4JNW

Hey Jet'... Welcome to RadioReference!

Buying your first scanner is a huge leap! Buying the correct scanner once, will prevent you from having to spend more money later. If you're anything like me, or anyone else, you don't like spending $1.00 more than you have to. With so many scanners on the market, it's hard to choose just one. I'm sure you've seen some of the shacks here, with stacks and stacks of scanners. I'm going to tell you, you DON'T have to have all that to have fun scanning! To enjoy the hobby, you'll need a scanner of course, a good antenna, and patience. Yes, patience is the key to scanning!

Most of the fun in scanning is finding elusive, hidden frequencies, that only appear every so often. The database is a good place to start, choose your state and county, and check out what's active in your area. This will also tell you what type of scanner you need. Keep in mind, the databse is highly accurate, but, there's still LOADS of frequencies you won't see there. Why? Because no one has subitted them yet! There's lots of frequencies in your area, that no one probably even knows about. It's your job, scanner in hand, to sleuth them, and display them HERE so we all can cash in on your find!

Now, back to scanners...