Looking For Help Purchasing A New Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

69_rs_ss

First thing I'd like to say is I'm sorry for posting a question that is asked many times. I'm pretty new to the scanning hobby and was looking for some help with figuring out what scanner to purchase. I'll be listening in mainly 4 different areas that are running different systems it seems. Below are the areas/systems I am would like to listen to:

NYC Metro Area - Motorola Type I & II, OpenSky Standard, Motorola Type II Smartnet & EDACS Standard
Barnstable County, MA - Motorola Type II SmartZone & LTR
York, ME - Motorola Type II Smartnet
Johnson County, KS - Motorola Type II Smartnet & EDACS Standard

I'm looking for a handheld so I can retire the BC80XLT I am using since I know I won't be able to use it on most of those systems. Any help would bre greatly appreciated. Also, should I look at new antenna's while I'm at it and if so any opinions?

hoser147

Lots of Luck Study the RR database and you can check out many of the different scanners on WiKi and narrow down the field as to what you want in features and what you want to spend. If your going to go digital you might want to check out GRE later this month. Your in the right place to figure it out. Good Luck and Good Scannin.........Hoser147

madnachos

69_rs_ss said:
First thing I'd like to say is I'm sorry for posting a question that is asked many times. I'm pretty new to the scanning hobby and was looking for some help with figuring out what scanner to purchase. I'll be listening in mainly 4 different areas that are running different systems it seems. Below are the areas/systems I am would like to listen to:

NYC Metro Area - Motorola Type I & II, OpenSky Standard, Motorola Type II Smartnet & EDACS Standard
Barnstable County, MA - Motorola Type II SmartZone & LTR
York, ME - Motorola Type II Smartnet
Johnson County, KS - Motorola Type II Smartnet & EDACS Standard