question for connecting Handheld radio to PSTN

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ecollector

hi, this probably has been asked before but i just want to put the question in my own way and seek some answers from you. My question is, is it possible by using a handheld radio, a car mounted trunking repeater & a home based trunking repeater or a Ham setup to connect to PSTN while with some degree of encryption along the way for the sake of privacy. i am not an expert on radios but i have very deep interest in radios and just want to know by using the source like ebay, is it possible to get these kinds of equipment? how much knowledge is require. ( probably a lot, i know, what any highlights?) any legal issue involve with this kind of operation? all your answers is greatly appreciated, thank you very for much for taking your time answer my questions.

fineshot1

I think you need to clarify what you are asking ! No such thing as " a car mounted trunking repeater & a home based trunking repeater ". There are ways to connect to the PSTN with a two way radio but what are your needs? Please be a bit more liberal with the info on what you need.

n5usr

Premium Subscriber
Many amateur radio repeater controllers have an "autopatch" feature built in, whereby one can "dial" the access code and phone number on their radio's DTMF pad to call someone. Some of them also handle "reverse patch" where the controller picks up an incoming call, the caller would then dial a code and the repeater would "announce" the call and someone listening can pick up the call. I've heard commercial controllers that do this as well - most commonly on a security frequency, if security gets a call but no one is in their office (after-hours) or at one college the emergency phones in the parking lot dialled straight to a patch setup on their frequency.