RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > General Scanning Discussion

General Scanning Discussion For general questions not specific to a model of scanner or general discussion of use of a scanner. Location specific posts should be directed to the regional forums listed below.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2007, 9:48 AM

Default Pro-433 Picking up cordless phone

First of all great site with loads of info. Me...well I'm fairly new to scanning on my own, parents always had one and my dad just bought me a PRO-433 from RS. Now I ask you guys if this type of behavior is normal: My PRO-433 is picking up my 5.8GHz G.E. cordless phone. It seems to be picking it up on a few different freqs and it is completely driving my wife crazy. If she had her way I would be getting rid of the scanner just because of this. Now I've been locking out the channels that it is picking it up on but I was under the impression that it would not pick up a cordless phone. Any ideas to help with my dilemma or just keep the channels locked out? The channels it is picking up on were pre-programmed in the scanner from the factory and don't match up with any of my local freqs but it is still troubling me.

The other issue is whether or not to buy a new phone because if my scanner can pick it up then I'd imagine other people could too or would they have to be sitting in my dining room to receive it?

Thanks for your help guys and if you need any more info just let me know.

-Hans
Sponsored links
Old 09-20-2007, 10:26 AM
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

what freq is it picking it up at? I also have a GE 5.8, so I want to make sure im not broadcasting as well...

K1SPL
Old 09-20-2007, 10:34 AM