Information Overload

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

ACU1000

I am a scanner buff from back in the days of crystals, BC101 dipswitches, and 200 channel programmable units. I also used to be a radio tech part-time way back when, so I comprehend input, output, PL, DPL, SMR, etc.

I am new to trunked scanning, P25, etc but I just purchased a 396T and am using software with RR capabilities.

I am experiencing information overload with all the ability to download all the different trunked and conventional systems that are indexed and documented out there online.

My question is, for other folks with a 396T or Pro96 - do you try to load your scanner up with a bunch of systems for everything you might encounter in your immediate and surrounding areas or do you only load up what you want to listen to when you want to listen to it????????

I am spending more time trying to organize everything I possibly can into my scanner, than I am trying to enjoy listening to anything.

Just curious what most others do.

captclint

Mentor
I'm from the Xtal era as well, but I don't think that question is any different for conventional systems (It's just that there are a lot more things on the air since the 70's) :wink: It's still a matter of personal choice. My County has many conventional Fire, EMS & Police channels broken into areas, and then there are surrounding counties. There are separate freq's for DPW, Mass Transportation, utilities, etc. Almost sounds like a trunking system(s) with each agency having ID's.
As a base operation, I program most of those only in my county, but listen to only a fraction, depending on the circumstances. As a mobile operation, I would have many more that I could turn on and off with quick keys as I travel.

Since it sounds like you are just getting back into again, you can either: